RANDOM POST # 13 – BAA-BAA SHEEP

Standard

RANDOM POST # 13 – BAA-BAA SHEEP

I think this is the last former job I’ll post about, unless I remember another one I’ve had. I had a lot of fun with this job.

I read an ad in the local paper, asking for people who like to sew. Well sure, I like to sew, so I called the number. This lady answered. She lived in a tiny town next to ours, and wanted me to come over to see what she had in mind. I went, and found she had a small craft store next to her house. At first she wanted me to take some fabric and a pattern home to make a skirt. I guess this was a trial of sorts, to see how I sewed. I made the skirt, then brought it back. Well, after that she suggested I could sew … sheep muzzles! Huh?

Well, I never knew sheep wore muzzles, but I found out they do. She gave me yards and yards of that soft plastic shade cloth, a little pattern, some elastic, and some of her labels. I took it all home and got started.

This lady and her family raised sheep, and took them to shows at fairs around the area, hoping to win ribbons. They put the muzzles on the sheep so they wouldn’t chew up everything in sight, which they do, just like goats.

Anyway, she said she’d pay me a dollar for each one I made, and there was really no time limit, or quota, so I just worked on them as I wanted to. When I got a hundred made, I’d call her up, and meet her here in town, so I could give her the finished muzzles, and she would pay me. It worked out great.

She also wanted me to sew blankets for the sheep to wear in between showing them, to keep them warm, as these sheep were sheared. The blankets were pretty big, but easy to make. I think she paid me more for these, but can’t remember how much more.

At our local fair that year, we toured the sheep barn, and I did see her sheep wearing the muzzles and blankets that I sewed. Pretty cool!

I did this job for quite awhile, then I guess she had enough muzzles (she also sold them), and the job was over. I had fun doing this! Here’s a photo of one I made, but it is unfinished, and a couple of photos of a finished one and a blanket. I found these last two photos different places, by looking online.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

6 responses »

  1. That’s a great job πŸ™‚ Although, I love sheep and sewing, so I may be biased.

    I kinda chuckled at the part where she sent you off to make a skirt. A lot of times for writing jobs, they’ll ask you to write something specific, like what your morning’s like, or the best day of your childhood… Like a sample of your voice. I like how that applied here.

Leave a Reply

