FRIENDLY FILL-INS #64 – 7/28/17

Standard

FRIENDLY FILL-INS # 64 – 7/28/17

https://mcguffysreader.blogspot.com/2017/07/friendly-fill-ins-week-64.html

***

THE QUESTIONS…

1. As a child, my favorite playground activity was _______________________.

2. For breakfast, I have ___________________.

3. An instrument I would like to play is                        .

4. I always try to                          , because                       .
***
MY ANSWERS…
  1. My favorite playground activity? We never went to any playgrounds, unless you mean at elementary schools. In that case, I liked the days we had free play, where we could run around doing whatever we wanted. Mostly a group of us would play/pretend we were the characters from a TV show. I would say that was probably “Bonanza”, as that was popular back then, and we all watched it. Any other scheduled type things we had to do, such as softball, or…well, I can’t remember what else, but I never liked those days. I was never picked for a team, was just an afterthought because I was there. I was no good at any sport, and didn’t like them anyway, so it didn’t bother me. Our school didn’t have any playground equipment, whatsoever. It was just a large empty lot, with dried out grass, and no trees.
  2. For breakfast I have …some days just cereal and fruit. Other days would be bacon, eggs, & toast. If we get really industrious there may be biscuits and gravy. Occasionally we have pancakes.
  3. An instrument I would like to play is, the guitar. I have one, but haven’t practiced in a long time.
  4. I always try to …answer the comments I get on my blog, because I feel it is rude not to answer a person back, when they’ve taken the time to comment. I probably miss some, as I scroll through my notices, but it isn’t intentional. Sorry, if I’ve missed any of yours, or that it takes me awhile to get to them. I do appreciate each and every one. 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

20 responses »

  1. I don’t remember having much of a playground either. I do think there were swings and a jungle jim (over concrete, of course). I do remember we fund-raised in my last year at that school for a fancy new playground we wouldn’t ever get to enjoy! Sigh…

    • Playground over the concrete…yep …those were the days! haha … Your fund raising deal sounds about like the one our PTA voted on when I was in the last year of that school. We kids were all excited, and thought we’d have play equipment immediately. Nope, they voted to buy some scraggly little trees to put around the dried out grass perimeter. Not even shade trees, but some kind of bushy things. Man, were we disappointed. Driving by maybe 30 years later, most of the trees didn’t last long, and the ones that did, were still little scraggly things. Still there was no playground at that school. They’ve now closed it.

  2. Can’t go wrong with eggs and toast 😛
    I know we don’t get all the notifications for comments. I tend to go through at the end of the week and check my own posts for replies. :/ It happens.

  3. I can’t remember much of what was on the playground at my elementary school, but our mill hill had a great playground and that’s where I played the most (aside from our own yard). I remember at school with the PE lady would come, would sometimes got to play with the big parachute thing. We’d all grab an edge and run in a circle to make it fly up, then we’d all run under it. That was both fun and scary and I often wonder if that is why I am claustrophobic. 🙂

    I loved watching Bonanza, too. The Cartwright boys were great, but Lorne Greene…well, I always did think the older men were cuter. haha

    I always try to answer the comments I get, too, though here lately it takes me forever to get to do it. Some folks never come back to see that I responded. I respond on my PS Annie! blog posts, but other folks have figured out how to respond to their blog comments via email from Blogger and I don’t have a clue how to do that. I just respond on my blog. This is where WordPress has it over Blogger. WordPress makes it easy to carry on an actual conversation in the comments, without folks having to try to remember where they left a comment to check back on. BUT WordPress is forever hiding comments in the spam section, which I almost never remember to check on. Most of the time it is really spam there, but sometimes it is an actual comment that went there. That is frustrating.

    I enjoyed your post. Have a blessed weekend, Barbara! 🙂

    • Thanks, Suzanne! That parachute thing sounds pretty fun, to me. Mostly our play time was all over our neighborhood. We’d go round up some more kids, and ride bikes everywhere. I don’t remember any of us having supervision back then. It was a good time to be a kid back then. Of course I’m talking about the 50s and 60s, for me. haha! … Oh, Bonanza… such a good show. My favorite was Little Joe. 🙂 … I don’t know much about Blogger, even though I have a blog over there. Never got much response, even after a couple of years. That’s why I’m on WP now…so much better! 🙂 … enjoy your Sunday, and keep cool! 🙂

      • It definitely seems to be easier to get followers here on WordPress than on Blogger, though apparently some folks are having trouble with getting to follow me. A couple of folks have tried to follow me via email and it isn’t working for them. I don’t have a clue how to fix the problem, either.

        Little Joe was cute, too, but I think Hoss was my favorite of the boys. He was just a big ol’ teddy bear. I liked Little Joe better when he grew up to be Pa Ingalls. 🙂

        That parachute was a lot of fun and less painful than dodge ball. haha We played all over our neighborhood, too, and like you, with no real supervision. We knew the safe areas and the not-so-safe areas, who we could trust and who we couldn’t. This was the early to mid-1970s. I turned 5 in 1970. 🙂 After we moved out of that neighborhood, across the highway into a different town and school district, me and my siblings rode our bikes back across the highway to the new neighborhood to play, but we also explored our new area, too. It was great!

        Have a blessed Sunday and keep cool, too. Inside it is for me today. The heat index is 101 at the moment.

      • Yes, Little House on the Prairie was such a great show! I don’t know if kids these days are allowed to go exploring the neighborhoods. Sad, really. We sure enjoyed our games and friends, and we didn’t have computer games or anything, just black & white TV for the longest time. We survived the good old days! 🙂

  4. School playgrounds were great, but Chicago had neighborhood parks that were even better. Play-acting was always fun, too. Imagination is a wonderful thing. But, you know that!
    Get that guitar out and play it, Girl! Have a great weekend! Hugs.

    • I’m glad you had good places to play back then. Kids are adaptable, and yes using our imagination can make up for a lot of fun. Thanks for the encouragement to get busy practicing the guitar! 🙂 Hope your Sunday is going great! 🙂

  5. Thank you for participating in the fill-ins, great answers. That is too bad your playground didn’t at least have a slide and swings. I was never picked for a team either, I have no athletic ability. I think you should start playing the guitar, you can look on youtube for lessons. I try to answer all comments too, I feel the same way you do about that. Have a great weekend!

    • It’s always fun to find out what the questions are, on y’all’s challenge! I look forward to it each week! … Yes, our ‘playground’ as such, wasn’t much, but at least we got outside for awhile, and had fun anyway. Oh, I’ve seen a few youtube lessons for guitar, and I’ve tried to follow along. I should do that some more, soon. Hope you’re having a great Sunday! 🙂

  6. In our neighborhood, we picked in reverse. We chose two team captains from the least athletic people. They choose the teams. Everyone got to play even if the teams would be unbalanced. There were no real rules, though.

    • Hi, David! That’s an interesting way to pick for teams. Seems it worked out best that way. We didn’t have much structure to our outside time, which was fun, just running around making up games. Us girls would jump rope or play jacks a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

