RANDOM POST # 12 – RING…RING…HELLO!

Standard

RANDOM POST # 12 – RING…RING…HELLO!

***

I looked back to see when I posted the last random post, and it was about a month ago. It’s time for another one!

So far, these have been a look back at all the different jobs I’ve had over the years. I’ve been through the 60s, 70s, and 80s, and these next ones are, I believe, from the very late 80s, and early 90s. I’m putting all these together, as they are all about the same kind of work.

Telemarketing!

Yes, I have been a telemarketer for several different companies. I know, I know…telemarketers are annoying as all get out. I don’t like to get those kind of calls, myself. They come at all hours, and at bad times to receive them. They finally did make a law, saying we could not make calls before 9 in the morning, or after 9 at night. Then there is the no call list. Sometimes these work, sometimes they don’t.

Anyway, my time in these jobs were some of the best. I really enjoyed making those calls. And, if I do say so, I was good at it. I got lots of sales, and appointments set.There were many times I’d get someone on the line who was rude, made nasty comments, hung up on me, ranted about the calls, and all kinds of things. It didn’t bother me at all. I thought the worse they were, the funnier they were. And of course we’d share what was said, to our fellow workers, so we could all have a laugh.

Some of the perks of the job for me were…it was only part-time work. This worked out good, while the kids were in school. We’d get cash bonuses for making the most sales in the day. (yes, I got a lot of these). We could also chit-chat with each other in between calls. I got a lot of writing done, in between calls. My fellow workers were all fun and friendly. Some companies let us smoke, eat, watch TV, or listen to music (some would even bring in music tapes to play on the cassette player for us all to listen to). There were nice lunch and break times. The bosses I had on all these jobs were nice, fun, and enthusiastic. All in all, I loved telemarketing!

A couple of funny stories were… I volunteered to drive a coupon booklet to a customer in another town. When I got there, I knocked on the door. I could see the lady asleep on the couch, but there was lots of smoke coming from her kitchen. I kept banging away at the door, until she woke up. She hollered and ran to put out the fire. So, I probably in a little way saved her life!

Another time we workers were all being silly, while still making sales, and the boss just laughed and said he’d completely lost control of us! That was pretty much every day, though.

One call was very strange. The person who answered just said in a professional voice, “Destroy this number. Erase it from your memory.” Now, they could have been just putting me on, but the way my imagination runs, I took it that I’d dialed some super secret, clandestine government number! Who knows!

One more…this was during the time when answering machines were very popular, so lots of times we’d get a recording…and lots of them were funny. One that I remember was to a household with the name Adams. Their recording was of the TV show’s intro to the “Addams Family”. 🙂

***

So, I’ll list the ones I remember…I know there were more, but at the moment I can’t recall them all.

  • Coupon booklet sales (local businesses put it together). I did several of these jobs at different times (Merchant Checks and Super Savers)
  • Home Improvement companies (to make appointments for a representative to come give the person an estimate on roofing, siding, and any re-modeling) These were Circle A Siding, and Community Builders. I worked at Circle A, both in the place, and at home.
  • Telephone/City Directory (calling to update information that goes into these books)
  • Supplemental Insurance
  • Olan Mills Photography (setting up appointments)
  • Silverback Gym (offering specials for gym memberships) …this is the one I mentioned in an earlier post, about working for a gorilla! Their logo was a Silverback Gorilla.

That’s all I remember, but I know there were some more.

Anyway, I enjoyed them all. Remember, the telemarketers are just doing their job, and not really trying to make you mad. 🙂

***

I think there is one more job to post about. It’s a pretty cool one! 🙂 That will be next time.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

 

14 responses »

    • haha, Teagan! That’s right, there’s no telling what I tapped into with that call. There were so many interesting ones, too. Some little old ladies, I think were just lonely, and wanted to talk to someone. We could do that for a few minutes. We never knew who we’d get on the line. Once I even spoke Spanish. I don’t really know much, but enough to ask if they spoke English! 🙂 Thanks for your visit here, and as always… mucho hugs!! xo

  1. I had a part-time job doing cold calls for my insurance agent. It wasn’t too bad. It did drum up some business. Most people were like me, “No thank you. Goodbye.” Rarely people screamed about wanting to be left alone or eat dinner in peace, but it did result in some new clients. I didn’t mind doing it.
    I’m glad you woke that woman up! Phew!!!

    • I’d rather the people would just say that, no thank you, right up front. Sometimes we’d go through a whole long script to read, then they’d hang up or something. We got to where we memorized the script, we said it so much. We’d go through the phone book, one name at a time, at this one place. You ever just read the phone book? There are some really funny sounding names out there. 🙂 I’m glad I helped save the woman, too!

      • Yes, haha, yes, on the names. My faves are the ones that are repeats, like Basil Basil and Kyle Kyle. 😀

      • I know! Those repeating ones are funny. Makes you wonder why they were named like that. I just like thinking about names, though. I know here in town there are 2 more ladies with my exact name. Funny thing is, my daughter worked with one of their sons. 🙂

    • Me, too! Hadn’t thought of it in years. I mostly see the caller ID, and disconnect before answering, but it might be fun to try this line out once in awhile. I did ask someone the other day if they were ‘real’. haha they sounded like a recording. He stopped a second, then said yes! 🙂

  2. The phone lines are filled with international scammers now who give even telemarketers a bad name. A lot of them spoof legit numbers when they show up on Caller ID. I have apparently called myself several times…

    • I wouldn’t want to be doing this job these days. Back then, it was fun. Now we mostly get those computerized calls, so we just disconnect. That’s weird that you may have called yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

