I SLEEP ON a DOG BED

Standard

I SLEEP ON a DOG BED

***

I know it sounds strange to sleep on a dog bed, but it’s true. I have spent many years trying to find a comfortable pillow. I’ve tried pretty much every kind and style, plus all the kinds of stuffing inside them. Every one says it’s the very best. They lie.

I know everyone has their preference as to softness or firmness, but I’ve yet to find one that suits me. That’s why, I tried out the dog bed. You’ve seen them, I’m sure. They are very large, and most are really soft and squishy. I do like that kind, rather than the ones that feel hard. I’ve had neck problems for years, so it’s important to find a pillow that doesn’t make it hurt. I’ve tried stuffings of polyester, foam, feathers, buckwheat (?), cotton, and every other type I can think of. So far, the best is the dog bed.

Sometimes my head is on the dog bed, sometimes my feet. I only sleep on my back, halfway sitting up, because of vertigo. If I lay on my side, I get so dizzy. I tried counting all the pillows on my bed. I got to 20, and stopped. I think I might have counted some more than once. It’s hard to tell, there are so many…of all types. Body pillows, travel pillows, regular, medium, and firm, vibrating neck pillows (2 of them), cheap pillows, expensive pillows…they are all on there. That’s so I can switch them out if one isn’t just right at the moment.

I bought the dog bed pillow while on vacation. I got some funny looks from family, but I didn’t care. It even squished down great in my one suitcase, when we left to go back home. They thought I’d leave it there for their dogs, when we left, but no…it was mine, and I was keeping it.

So, yes…I sleep on a dog bed, and it’s great! πŸ™‚

Here it is, the blue and white. The animal print is my flannel sheet. πŸ™‚

P.S. We don’t have any dogs.

Have you ever tried out sleeping on a dog bed pillow? Would you? What is your favorite kind of pillow?

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

11 responses »

    • I don’t know why it’s so hard to find a pillow that is just right. You should at least try the dog bed for a pillow. Most aren’t very expensive, I think mine was like less than $15. If it works for you, great…if not you can let your puppy dogs have it! πŸ™‚

  1. LOL – the great pillow hunt! I own many myself – but only my dog sleeps on the dog beds (the donut kind). I can see how the little indentation that allows little dogs to get in and out on some of them might work well as a neck bridge, however.

    At a discount store years ago I tripped across a bin of truly inexpensive pillows filled with a down/feather mix — my favorite since then. Ironically, I bought them for my dogs, but kept them when I saw how well they worked for me.

    I can’t sleep on thick pillows (pushes my neck out of alignment) – and I need one that I can poke and prod into shape, depending on my position (side or back, most usually). Second fav is an ancient foam one (like 40+ years ancient) — worn out and practically a Kleenexβ„’ anymore.

    What I really want is one that comes with its own AC!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    • The great pillow hunt! Exactly!…I will have to find some like you mentioned…down/feather mix. Sounds comfortable. Yes, those thick ones won’t do, at all, and I do like to poke and prod them into a shape I like, which may be different every time. I had one years ago that was perfect, but it finally wore out. I tried re-stuffing it, and even tried sewing one like it, but finally it was done. I think I’ve heard of a cooling pillow…a ‘chill – ow’? Something like that. Maybe an air pillow? I used to use an air mattress on top of the actual one. That was good, too! πŸ™‚

      • Oh, it was for being comfortable. We’d had a water bed for years, and switching to a regular mattress wasn’t good. I went through many air mattresses, and they worked great, except the cats claws sometimes would puncture it, so after patching them up a few times, I’d have to get another. Then I got one of those pillow top mattresses, which is good now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

