SEALING/CEILING – for STREAM of CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY

Standard

SEALING/CEILING – for STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS July 22/17

***

This week for SOCS we have the prompt words ‘sealing and ceiling’. To join in this fun challenge, and see other entries, just click the above link. 🙂

***

Have you ever used sealing wax on the back of an envelope? I have, and it’s fun to do. Sealing wax has been in use for many years, as it was one way to assure your correspondence would arrive at it’s destination untampered with by other than the named receiver.

You can still send letters using sealing wax. It is allowed by the post office, but it would be best if you took it in to their office to have it hand cancelled. It doesn’t go through their automated sorting machines very good, and may become torn, or damaged in other ways. Also, sealing wax adds to the weight of your letter, so may require more postage. They can weigh it for you for the correct amount of stamps needed.

I think today, it is mostly a novelty thing to do, and it adds an old fashioned charm to any letters you send to another. I know actual pen and paper letter writing is becoming obsolete, what with emails and instant communication, but I still like to send and receive letters and cards by mail.

Here’s some photos of my sealing wax set. It has the capital letter B. You light the wax stick,(it’s sort of like a candle, but the wax is different – candle wax will crack),  let it drip onto the envelope in the correct place, then press the embossing tool into the wax, leaving the impression. It turns out great! 🙂

***

 

***

 

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

15 responses »

  1. I so agree with you. I bought a sealing wax kit recently. I use it on birthday cards and other important stuff. It does add a beautiful touch to the envelope. If I’m feeling really creative, I might even use a real quill and ink to write the address!

    • This makes a letter or card more personal, I think. I haven’t tried using ink and a quill, before. That sounds really nice. I want to try it, now! 🙂

    • I think so, too. I really should start up sending out more actual letters. I do send birthday cards. For awhile I had lots of pen pals, and we’d write each other letters all the time. 🙂

  2. I don’t recall ever using sealing wax, but I use stickers and sticker borders all the time on the seal. I bet they make stickers to look like sealing wax. That would be fun.

    • I love using all kinds of stickers, too! It seems an envelope just isn’t finished until I put one or more on there. (not on bill, though! haha). I like to browse through all the stickers at the hobby/craft shops. I’ll bet there’s one looking like a wax seal somewhere! 🙂

Leave a Reply

