IT’S JOHN WAYNE – for ONE – LINER WEDNESDAY

Standard

IT’S JOHN WAYNE – for ONE – LINER WEDNESDAY

One-Liner Wednesday – He’s at it yet again

***

***

“But, it’s John Wayne!!” …

A lady said this to me at a yard sale, a long time ago. I was looking at the things she had for sale, and saw some VHS tapes. They were home-made, taped from the television ones she’d recorded. The price she’d put on them was outrageous. I can’t remember the exact amount she was charging, but was something between $5 and $15 dollars each. One was some movie that John Wayne was starring in.

I asked her if that was really what she wanted for them, and she said yes. I asked why so much, when I could buy used tapes all day, at other places, for a quarter or fifty cents, and I could buy brand new ones for less than what she was charging.

That’s when she said, “But, it’s John Wayne!!”

hahaha … I didn’t buy them. πŸ™‚

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

***photos found on Pixabay

23 responses »

    • It may have been for her. You know how you just really need to downsize your stuff, but don’t really want to. I know how it is, going through my parent’s things. Our garage is full of so much of this, and even from my grandparent’s things. So much, I don’t even know where to start, and each thing brings back memories. I can’t just toss it out! But, I need to do something with it! It’s hard, I know.

      • I understand. It has helped me in the past to realize that someone else might be able to use some of it. But I also need to let go of some things. It’s going to take some time.

  1. I think there’s a separation between people who want to exhibit their treasures in hopes of making a fortune and people who want to clear out their spaces and maybe make a buck or two. She was definitely the former. I don’t understand that!

    • I hadn’t thought of that. Possibly that was the deal with this lady. She had a lot of other things for sale, and I think I did buy a couple of reasonably priced items. It was just curious about those tapes! Maybe she’ll have another sale someday, maybe I’ll run across it again. Maybe those same tapes will be out there! haha!

    • haha, John! You are so right! I wouldn’t! Forgive me, all you John Wayne fans (my husband included), but I never could see the allure in this actor, and never liked any of his movies. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

