MANIC MONDAY – # 2 – IMAGINE

Standard

MANIC MONDAY – # 2 – IMAGINE

https://flipflopseveryday.wordpress.com/2017/07/16/manic-monday-2-challenge-imagine/

***

Today is the second week of a new challenge, from Sandi. Her blog, “Flip Flops Every Day” can be found at the above link. It sounds like fun, so here’s my try at it. If you’d like to join in, just click the above link to find out details. (hint…hint…there are no rules besides using the chosen title of the weekly song in your post. 🙂

Thanks for the fun challenge, Sandi!

***

Today, for Manic Monday # 2, we have the word prompt, ‘Imagine’. Sandi used the song, “Imgine”, by John Lennon, to get us started thinking about the prompt!

What would it be like, if we had no imagination. I believe it would be a dull world indeed. 🙂

***

First, I thought of the TV show, “The Twilight Zone”. I always liked it, because it was a bit creepy, and presented some wonderful little stories of regular people, having an especially weird day. My kind of show! I tried thinking of the opening words to the show, and of course the music that is so identifiable. I thought it started out…’Imagine, if you will…’, but then I looked it up, and here’s one of the beginning narrations (there were several versions), and I believe the creator of the show, Rod Serling, also said the words to the quote. This is from the Wikiquote page article. https://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/The_Twilight_Zone_(1959_TV_series)

You are traveling through another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land whose boundaries are that of imagination. Your next stop, the Twilight Zone!

The Twilight Zone (19591965) is an American television series created by Rod Serling. The original series ran for five seasons on CBS from 1959 to 1964 and remains in syndication to this day.

***

***

Next, I thought about this song, by the Turtles, because it has the word imagine in the lyrics.

***

“Happy Together”, by the Turtles, was released in 1967, from the album, “Happy Together”. It is on the White Whale label, and was written by Alan Gordon & Garry Bonner.

***

***

Imagine me and you, I do
I think about you day and night, it’s only right
To think about the girl you love and hold her tight
So happy together

If I should call you up, invest a dime
And you say you belong to me and ease my mind
Imagine how the world could be, so very fine
So happy together

I can’t see me lovin’ nobody but you
For all my life
When you’re with me, baby the skies’ll be blue
For all my life

Me and you and you and me
No matter how they toss the dice, it had to be
The only one for me is you, and you for me
So happy together

I can’t see me lovin’ nobody but you
For all my life
When you’re with me, baby the skies’ll be blue
For all my life

Me and you and you and me
No matter how they toss the dice, it had to be
The only one for me is you, and you for me
So happy together

Ba-ba-ba-ba ba-ba-ba-ba ba-ba-ba ba-ba-ba-ba
Ba-ba-ba-ba ba-ba-ba-ba ba-ba-ba ba-ba-ba-ba

Me and you and you and me
No matter how they toss the dice, it had to be
The only one for me is you, and you for me
So happy together

So happy together
How is the weather
So happy together
We’re happy together
So happy together
Happy together
So happy together
So happy together (ba-ba-ba-ba ba-ba-ba-ba)

***
Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{
© 2017 BS

10 responses »

  1. Nicely done! I enjoyed the Twilight Zone (and Munsters) they were repeats when I was a kid, but still fun to watch! Also, that’s a great song too. It might be a future Manic Monday song title!

    • Yes, both those shows were favorites of mine, too. How about the Addams Family? I can just hear that song they had! …I’m enjoying your Manic Monday Challenge a lot! 🙂

      • Hooray! I’m so glad. Me too! In fact, I haven’t yet written a piece for Imagine. I am still thinking. I had all those other challenges to participate in… hahah. OH, and don’t forget Alfred Hitchcock presents… LOVED THAT ONE.

      • I’m the same with the blog challenges. I love them all, but getting to them takes awhile. …Oh my, just the mention of Alfred Hitchcock presents made me flash back to that music at the beginning! Wonderful show! 😉

    • Thanks! Twilight Zone is such a classic. I think it being in black & white makes it even more weird! Wouldn’t be the same in color. That’s really cool that the song is one of your favorites! 🙂

  2. Nice job, I really enjoyed your post. I liked that part of The Twilight Zone introduction, ‘a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land’ that you wrote because it mentions a good friend of mine here who is known as Sight or Journey.

    • Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed this, as the Twilight Zone is a favorite of mine, too! I do know of your friend, Sight/Journey! I’ve recently started following. 🙂

Leave a Reply

