ICK – for STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY

Standard

ICK – for STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS July 8/17

***

Today we are to consider the word, ‘ick’, for the SOCS. To join in, and see other entries, just click the above link.

***

I’ve been traveling down the rabbit hole for quite awhile this morning, searching for icky things. What would have the ‘ick’ factor to one person, may not have the ‘ick’ factor to another person. Lots of things I would consider not icky would probably freak out someone else.

Take for example, the Body Farm. Have you heard of it? There are several of them across this country, of which the original is in Tennessee. What happens at these body farms, is the study of rates of decomposition of the human body, in different circumstances. Actual human bodies are donated by the families of the deceased, at the request of the person who has died, to the body farms. The scientists study how insects, weather, and other factors effects the bodies, to help in forensics, as to determine time of death, solving crimes, etc.

To me this is not icky. It’s fascinating.

***

On a lighter note, this one is fun. My daughters had a children’s book called, “My Icky Picky Sister”. They loved this book about sibling rivalry. My youngest pretty much memorized every word, and learned to read, I’m sure from it, before she was even in kindergarten. They even had a game to see who could recite the whole thing the fastest. 🙂

***

I’m sure there are lots more icky and not so icky things I could go on about, but that’s all for now.

Wishing y’all a wonderful and not icky weekend! 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

 

 

 

10 responses »

  1. Good post. I think The Farm is fascinating. While it may be a bit icky, it serves a great purpose. I have read a couple of books about it. Science can be icky, but in good ways! Hugs.

    • Thanks, Annie! My daughter is a nurse, and for awhile she worked with the Medical Examiner helping with autopsies. Hearing about that didn’t bother me, either. I’m mostly just creeped out with fish, as you’ve probably read on here before! haha!

  2. The Body Farm is definitely high on my ‘ick’ factor. Never knew there was such a thing. As McGuffy mentioned, all for the good of science. I’m going to be cremated though. No body farm for me. Ha ha!

    • Oh, Olga, it is a pretty gruesome subject, isn’t it! I don’t blame you at all for feeling icky at the thought! Cremations seem to be a good way to ‘go’ though. I said once I wanted to be made into a mummy, and have a highly decorated sarcophagus (with fake jewels from Hobby Lobby) haha! 🙂

    • If you can get over the ‘ick’ factor, then it is all interesting what happens. I like reading about all of these, and even mortuary practices. 🙂

  3. There have been a number of books about body farms, both fiction and non-fiction. Patricia Cornwell wrote one called The Body Farm. Mary and I watch a lot of “true crime” TV on The Justice Network and Escape, and yes, forensics is pretty interesting.

    • I have read lots of true crime books, and they do go into lots of detail about the crime scenes, even with photos. Katharine Ramsland writes some really good ones along these lines, one of which is “Cemetery Stories”.

Leave a Reply

