51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST – SEQUELS

Standard

51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM the PAST – SEQUELS

51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 27: Petula Clark – Downtown

***

Thanks, Hugh, for providing the interesting prompts for this challenge.

***

We were asked about songs with sequels. At first I was thinking about cover versions of the same songs, by different artists. Then, I thought about the word sequel. It seemed to me to mean a song that was a continuing part of the first song…an answer, or reply to the first one.

I did have to look up some, before I found these, but they fit the definition, as I see it. Do you agree?

I hope you enjoy listening to these songs by Buddy Holly. He is our famous hometown singer, who passed away much too soon.

It has been said that these songs were one of the first of the sequel kind in the rock era of music.

***

“Peggy Sue”, by Buddy Holly, was released in 1957. It was written by Buddy Holly, Jerry Allison, and Norman Petty. It was from the album, “Buddy Holly”, and is on the Coral label.

***

 

***

It seems (from the Wikipedia article), that Buddy Holly had recorded his vocals to this sequel song in December of 1958. He then died in a plane crash in February of 1959. This song was later released, in July of 1959.

***

“Peggy Sue Got Married”, by Buddy Holly, was written by Buddy Holly, and released in 1959, as a single from the album, “The Buddy Holly Story Vol. 2”. It is on the Coral label.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

7 responses »

  1. There is actually a song titled “Sequel,” and it is the very lesser known sequel to a rather well known 70’s hit! Most people remember Harry Chapin’s storybook song “Taxi”… but even I was unaware of the existence of “Sequel” (which I think came 5 years later) until it was pointed out to me a few years ago!

    • Thanks for the video! I hadn’t heard of either one of these songs. I went back and read the lyrics to both of them, and listened to this one. I’m not so keen on the music, but I love how the story was told, and the whole sequel aspect of them. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 28: Jess Glynne – Hold My Hand – Hugh's Views & News

Leave a Reply

