51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST

Standard

51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST

51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 26: Hot Butter – Popcorn

***

Thanks, Hugh, for this interesting prompt!

We were asked the question, is a song without lyrics, a song…or not? If I hear it played on the radio, I think it is a song, even if it is just music. There have been many instrumental ‘songs’ recorded. Seems they were more popular way back when, than these days, but I still like hearing them.

This first song is one I really like. I’ve found myself humming it to myself quite a lot over the years, as it has stuck with me because of what all it represents. The music just does something to me, like an optimistic, uplifting sound. Well, you know how I’m fascinated by all things to do with space travel, time travel, stars, and planets. šŸ™‚ The song was named after the first Communications Satellite, which was launched on July 10, 1962. The satellite was the first one to provide communications through television, telephones, and faxes, to be available to everyone. Just think of how we communicate around the world right now. If it wasn’t for these many satellites that orbit the Earth today, our communications ability would not be so advanced.

Here is the Wikipedia information about the Telstar Satellite. It is so interesting to read.Ā  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telstar

***

“Telstar”, by the Tornados, was released as a single from the album, “Telstar – The Sounds of the Tornadoes”, in 1962. It is on the Decca (UK) and London (USA) labels, and was written by Joe Meek.

***

***

This next one is quite a bit different, in that it features of all things, an old fashioned manual typewriter! It’s funny to watch. This is the musician/performer Liberace with his version.

“The Typewriter Song”, was written by Leroy Anderson, and first performed by the Boston Pops Orchestra in 1950.

***

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Ā© 2017 BS

13 responses »

  1. These were fun to watch and listen to. I vaguely remember Liberace playing the typewriter song when I saw him in Atlantic City as a kid. Heck of a showman. Telstar was familiar to me, too but I never knew the name/background of the music. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks, Teagan! I think I remember watching Liberace on TV, and enjoyed his performances, and of course the over the top stage decorations! Glad you enjoyed these two songs! Hugs!!

    • You’re right, we used to hear one of these kind pretty often back in the days gone by. Wonder why there aren’t any more. Music tastes change, every so often, I suppose.

  2. Unfortunately, the first video won’t play in the UK, Barbara. I get a message saying ‘SME has blocked this video in the country you live.’ Now, the second video did play and I never knew that it was Liberace who made it so popular. I remember the tune because it was part of a cabaret act I watched way back in the 1980s. There are still some great instrumental tunes that make it into the UK single’s chart, although nowhere near as many that we got back in the 1980s and 1990s.

    • I get those notices, also, that a video won’t play for me. It’s strange how that works. I never knew who did the Typewriter song, but I always liked it. I don’t hear many instrumentals these days, either. Maybe everyone is spoiled to watching videos and downloading music, to bother with just some good music. Thanks, Hugh. šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 27: Petula Clark – Downtown – Hugh's Views & News

  4. “Telstar” would fit really well in a Western movie, you know?

    Leroy Anderson was a genius. I saw him with The Boston Pops once on PBS. That guy knows how to entertain with music. Love his pieces.

Leave a Reply

