DEAR DIARY – AUGUST 17 – 31, 1961

Standard

DEAR DIARY – AUGUST 17 – 31, 1961

For those who haven’t seen my Dear Diary posts before, a little explanation. This is my actual diary I wrote in for a full year, when I was 10 years old. I wrote every day, sometimes a lot, sometimes a little, sometimes funny, sometimes boring, but it was all recorded. Names of relatives are only first initials with relationship in parentheses. I’ve typed the entries just as I wrote them, mis-spellings and all, but corrected in parentheses. More posts of Dear Diary can be found by using catagories, or search box. Hope you enjoy reading my childhood diary! 🙂

***

Dear Diary,

8/17/61 – I played I sewed. We went to Grand mas.

8/18/61 – I played. B (aunt) came home. We saw the baby. It is a girl. Daddy, D (cousin), Grand pa, and B (uncle) went fishing. N (aunt) spent the night.

8/19/61 – I played. It rained all day.

8/20/61 – I played. I went to Bs (aunt) Daddy came home. We have some fish.

8/21/61 – We went to the Dr. I played. We went to the library.

8/22/61 – I went to the store. I played with J (cousin). We went to Ns (aunt) We ate watermelon.

8/23/61 – I played. V (cousin) came to spend the day. I went to Js (cousin). I spent the night. Daddy and Mama went to the store.

8/24/61 – I played. I went to the library.

8/25/61 – I went to Bs (aunt). I played. J (cousin) & V (cousin) came over. We played.

8/26/61 – I played.

8/27/61 – I played. Granny came over. J (cousin) came over to spend the night. We went to Gibson’s (discount store). We got our school supplies.

8/28/61 – I played. I went to the Dr. Daddy went to a meeting.

8/29/61 – I played. J (neighbor girl) came over to spend the night. We played.

8/30/61 – I played with J (neighbor girl). J (cousin) came over. We played.

8/31/61 – I played.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

6 responses »

    • Thanks! I’m glad I kept this diary. It’s fun to look back to see what all I did back then. We spent most of the summer days outside, finding things to do, and we weren’t afraid to roam the neighborhood with our friends. 🙂

      • Here too. We were always outside with the kids in the neighborhood. Hide and seek. Freeze tag. Getting wet with a sprinkler. Fun stuff !!

      • There were so many fun things to do for a kid back then. Now it seems kids just want their electronics to stare at. We didn’t have time to be bored! I feel the need to write a post about all the fun things we used to do. You could do that, too, then we can compare if we did some of the same things. …I know we used to play freeze tag! 🙂

Leave a Reply

