10 SIGNS IT’S HOT IN TEXAS

Standard

10 SIGNS IT’S HOT IN TEXAS

***

I’ve lived in Texas most of my life, except when we were sent places courtesy of the U. S. Army, and I’ll tell you, it gets hot here. The hottest I’ve experienced here was 115 degrees. That’s happened a few times. One of those times I was locked out of the house, and had to wait until the mister came home from work to open the door. We didn’t have cell phones back then. I was melting!

These observations are all my own, though I’ve seen similar lists here and there. With that said, here we go…

  1. When you turn on the kitchen water faucet trying for cold water, you only get very warm water.
  2. The roads we drive on are so hot, the asphalt/tar gets all sticky. The car’s tires make a squishy sound driving on the street.
  3. Some TV news cast person will try to fry an egg on a sidewalk.
  4. When going outside, (only if you must), the wind, which is always blowing here, hits you like a blast furnace. More thanΒ  likely it has the dirt blowing in it, too, so we are sandblasted.
  5. The metal parts of your car’s seat belt brands you like cattle.
  6. Your air conditioning unit will inevitably go out. (yes, this has happened)
  7. Grass here isn’t very green in the summer. It is brown and crispy. (and we have severe water restrictions against watering lawns)
  8. The weather guys say a ‘cold’ front is moving in, but it only cools us down to the mid 90s.
  9. Birds pant from the heat, just like dogs do. (we make sure all outside critters have a bowl of cool water, sometimes even with ice cubes in it, for them)
  10. If you wear make-up, it will melt off your face as soon as you step outside.

Today was 100 degrees, and Saturday we will be up to 109!

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

25 responses »

    • I’ll bet it feels hotter there on Ohio, with humidity factored in. Here in west TX we don’t usually have much. In east and south TX, where we used to live, it was miserable because of it. πŸ™‚

  1. I know what you mean. I lived in Texas for two years and I was eager to get out. I didn’t want to get out of the house in the summertime. It was hot and humid, quite unbearable. It’s getting hot in Utah too. It’s 90 today and supposed to be 100 or 101 by next week. Yikes! Stay cool. πŸ™‚

  2. You pegged that one right! The hottest that I’ve ever experienced was 118 degrees in Columbus, TX. And, we were in the SHADE. Good grief. Shade is supposed to be cooler than the not-the-shade. haha

    Our youngest has done the egg on the sidewalk routine and she says it worked. I think the cat ate it afterwards.

    I gave up on makeup a long time ago. Why go through the hassle and expense when it isn’t going to stay on anyway? I stopped wearing it back in South Carolina. It gets hot there, too, just not as hot as down here in Texas. It was not a rarity to reach 100 degree there, though.

    Our heat index right now is 97. I believe it! It wouldn’t take too much to convince me that it is 197. haha

    Have a blessed weekend, Barbara!

    • Haha…I hear you…feels like 197 around here, too, sometimes! Funny about the cat eating the sidewalk egg! πŸ™‚ Y’all have the humidity to add to the miserable heat down there in south TX. Not good…stay in if you can, and keep cooled off. Blessings for your weekend, also, Suzanne!

      • Humidity and mosquitoes…millions of them. OY! For the most part, we stay indoors, but I always try to spend a little time out there each day with the birds and squirrels. Plus, David and I are both getting cabin fever pretty bad these days. So, sometimes we just go sit in the carport and we’ve been lucky to get a cool breeze out there on occasion.
        I thought it was pretty funny that it ate the egg, too. πŸ™‚
        Thank you. May it be a blessed weekend for all of us in Bloggyland. πŸ™‚

      • I’m not an outdoorsy type person, so it never bothers me to stay inside all the time, but I’m glad you get to go out now and again. Just be careful of those mosquitos! I keep forgetting to ask my daughter what blood type she is, but you were mentioning O +? that’s what I am, and I almost never get bitten. …haha must have been a hungry cat that time it ate the egg! πŸ™‚ Keep cool, and be blessed, Suzanne! πŸ™‚

  3. We spent twenty long years in Texas. Started in El Paso (lordie, I adored that town!), moved to Austin (dear lord, I HATED that town! lol) then to Marble Falls in the Hill Country. I do NOT miss the heat. I do not miss the dark brown lawns. I do not miss the “water police”. I miss the barbeque, the tex-mex restaurants and the outdoor music concerts.

    • Yep, the dark brown lawns, and the water police! πŸ™‚ We’ve lived in south, in east, in central, and in west TX. Each one is hot times in the summer. It’s funny, too, that with being so hot temperature wise, we still love our spicy/hot foods. πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve experienced 1,2,3 & 5,6,7 in Georgia. Here, not so muches. Today it was 93 and opening the door to my office, the handle burned me. :/

    • Oh,I know what you mean. I’ve even thought about wearing gloves in the summer, so I won’t get burned on the door handles, or steering wheel. It would look kinda funny, but save you getting ouches! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Kat! I’ll be inside with the air conditioner going. Hot weather here is pretty normal for most of the year. We do get a blast of cold in the winter, but it never lasts long. πŸ™‚

  5. It does get really hot here in parts of Southern California in the summer. Especially in the desert. I remember going out to Palm Desert in July. In the summer there it doesn’t even cool off much at night. You have to run the AC 24/7. There are winds that my husband calls sirocco winds, hot winds. You drive around in air conditioned cars but once you step outside you get hit with a blast of hot wind. I say it’s like a blast furnace or it feels like you are in hell. πŸ˜€

    • Hot winds is right! We don’t call them sirocco winds, but that’s exactly how it feels here. Your part of the country and Arizona definitely get some high temperatures. …Right this minute it is 110 degrees here. We have stayed in with the air conditioner running all day. ..Stay cool πŸ™‚

      • Yes, it was a very dry heat. Our humidity was 4 percent. At the end of the day the recorded temp. was 112. Today is better, as it should be in the 80s, but the wind is blowing a lot, stirring up the dirt! I think the weather has gone crazy! haha

Leave a Reply

