DEAR DIARY – AUGUST 5 – 16 , 1961

Standard

DEAR DIARY – AUGUST 5 – 16 , 1961

For those who haven’t seen my Dear Diary posts before, a little explanation. This is my actual diary I wrote in for a full year, when I was 10 years old. I wrote every day, sometimes a lot, sometimes a little, sometimes funny, sometimes boring, but it was all recorded. Names of relatives are only first initials with relationship in parentheses. I’ve typed the entries just as I wrote them, mis-spellings and all, but corrected in parentheses. More posts of Dear Diary can be found by using catagories, or search box. Hope you enjoy reading my childhood diary! 🙂

***

Dear Diary,

8/5/61 -I played with L and J (neighbor girl & cousin). We went to the show.

8/6/61 – N (aunt) came over. We went to Gibson (Gibson’s Discount Store). I got some shoes. I played. Daddy went to Grannys.

8/7/61 – I played. We went to town. We went to Bs (aunt) shower (baby). She got some booties 2 pair, shirts, an infanseat (infant seat), blankets, rattlers 2, nite gown, Kimona, dress, socks, pannies (panties).

8/8/61 – D (cousin) came over to see if I could by (buy) some Kool aid. J (cousin) and I rode bikes. We went to the store. We went riding to peoples houses we knew.

8/9/61 – We went to the store. J (cousin) and I went riding. We went to the store. J and the family came over. We played

8/10/61 – J and I went riding. We went to the library.

8/11/61 – I kept K (a friend’s little girl that I babysat). I got a quarter. We went to the show. We saw Voge (Voyage) to the Bottom of the sea!!? I played. I had a headack. (headache) Daddy made some popcorn.

8/12/61 – I played. N (aunt) came over. She gave us some puppets. We went to town. We went to Grannys.

8/13/61 – I played. N came over. We had watermelon.

8/14/61 – We went to town. I got 2 dresses, a slip, and socks. I played.

8/15/61 – I went to play with J (cousin). We went swimming in their pool. We made some popcorn. P (sister) went to stay with granny. She is going to spend the night.

8/16/61 – I went to the store. B (aunt) had a baby. J (cousin) and V (cousin) spent the night.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

2 responses »

    • Thank you! I’m surprised I kept this one. I did have quite a few more, but don’t know what happened to them. I’ll bet you had some fun times back then. Glad you enjoy reading these, even though some days were just routine stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

