LAUGH

Standard

LAUGH

***

Did you ever have one of these? It’s a battery toy that makes laughing sounds. It’s funny for a minute, but then is very annoying. For some reason it is stored away in our Halloween decorations. Maybe that is because it’s kinda creepy laughing! haha

Laughing is the universal language, I think. Everyone, everywhere laughs at something they find funny. There’s all kinds of laugh sounds, and words that describe laughter. Here’s a few:

  1. belly laugh
  2. guffaw
  3. tee-hee
  4. chuckle
  5. cackle
  6. bray

One kind is what I think sounds like a snake hissing. It’s pushing air through your teeth – tsss tss tss.

I tend to laugh until my eyes water. That’s usually loud, with some snorts and shrieks, and keeps going on until I’m gasping for breath, and my stomach is aching from it.

Then, there is the polite laugh. This is when you hear someone say something they think is funny, but to you it’s just mildly amusing. Hmm-hmm-hmm…

Maybe you just don’t get the joke you just heard. This happens to me a lot. I just don’t get what’s so funny about some jokes. Everyone else will be ROFL, and I’m going hmm-hmm-hmm. Then, they laugh because I didn’t get it. ha ha ha – whatever…

There was a TV game show, years ago, that contestants tried not to laugh at someone in front of them trying to make them laugh. I think they won money or something. I’d be good at that show, because all their efforts to make the person laugh wouldn’t work on me…I found none of them funny.

You’ve heard of the laughing cow cheese? Here’s a cow we saw the other day. I don’t think she was laughing, though.

“Laugh and the world laughs with you – weep and you weep alone” – from the poem “Solitude”, by Ella Wheeler Wilcox

“Laughter through tears is my favorite emotion” – said by Truvy, in the movie, “Steel Magnolias”, and the quote is by Robert Harling

“A day without laughter is a day wasted” – by Charlie Chaplin

“Carry laughter with you wherever you go” – by Hugh Sidey

***

Wishing everyone a wonderful week filled with laughter! 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

⌐ 2017 BS

 

***

 

***

4 responses »

  1. I never had one of those, it would probably freak me out!
    I laugh with my whole body, really get goin and sometimes just cannot shake it. I’ll be snorting and kickin my foot out and gasping for air — those are GREAT TIMES!
    “Laughter through tears is my favorite emotion” — I’ve always loved that line, never knew the real source. Thanks.

    • I love to laugh like that. Sometimes the silliest things will set me off, and I just can’t quit. There was some TV ad for food or a drink, not long ago. The lady took a bite, or whatever and said something like ‘It tastes so good’…but she made a horrible face when she tasted it. I kept on laughing at that image off and on for hours. I don’t know why the company didn’t re-do the ad, because it wasn’t supposed to be funny, I don’t think. haha … oh, the laugh box…it is an ugly sounding laugh, plus it has a clown on the bag…I hate clowns! 🙂

Leave a Reply

