51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST

Standard

51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST

https://hughsviewsandnews.com/2017/05/30/51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past-week-22-divine-walk-like-a-man/

***

These two songs are just ones I like, because they are all about words, correct grammar, and punctuation. Being a writer, we all know these are important, and these songs present it in a fun way.

***

“I Love You Period”, by Dan Baird, was released in 1992. It was on the album, “Love Songs for the Hearing Impaired”. It was written by Terry Randall Anderson. This was Dan Baird’s first solo album, after his stint with the Georgia Satellites.

***

***

“Word Crimes”, by Weird Al Yankovic, was released in 2013, from the album, “Mandatory Fun”. It is on the RCA label, and was written by Pharrell Williams, Clifford Harris, Jr., Robin Thicke, Marvin Gaye, and Al Yankovic.

***

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

13 responses »

  1. I love Word Crimes and hey, Weird Al is making an appearance in my next post! It must be a “Weird Al” kind of week! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, that’s neat! I love his songs! My daughter & son-in-law have seen him in concert a couple of times, I think. πŸ™‚ They said he does a fantastic show.

  2. Word Crimes may be Weird Al’s magnum opus…. which is really saying something since he has made me laugh for over 30 years. I was completely unaware that Dan Baird was from Georgia Satellites. The latter’s best known hit is awesome. The former’s…. well, I’ll withhold comment!

    • I love Weird Al’s parody songs! I’ve only heard one other Georgia Satellite song, besides this one by Dan Baird, which I like. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to listen to more of them, though. πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve heard and seen the video for Word Crimes before. It’s so well written (excuse the pun) and very clever. I think it should be the national anthem for all writers. I cringe when I read back some of my writing. Not heard the first song before, but I love how certain words mean something completely different in the U.K to what they mean in the U.S.A.
    Thanks for your latest picks from your playlist, Barbara.

  4. Pingback: 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 23: Sarah Washington – I Will Always Love You – Hugh's Views & News

Leave a Reply

