CEE’S SHARE YOUR WORLD – 5/29/17

Standard

CEE’S SHARE YOUR WORLD – 5/29/17

https://ceenphotography.com/2017/05/29/share-your-world-may-29-2017/

***

Time for another SYW, with questions from Cee, and answers from me! Join in the fun, and see other entries by clicking the above link.

***

What is the most famous landmark or building you have ever seen?

I’ve been lucky enough to see a lot of famous/historic landmarks. Some of those include the Alamo, in San Antonio TX, the Mormon Temple, in Salt Lake City UT, the Eiffel Tower in France, the Nuremberg Castle in Germany, and the Statue of Liberty.

The USS ARIZONA MEMORIAL, in Pearl Harbor. After the ship was sunk, the bodies of 1,102 crew members were left underwater with the wreckage, which is still there today…a war grave. We visited this somber memorial many years ago.

img_4289 

This is a photo of the Tower of the Americas. We went to the World’s Fair in San Antonio, in 1968…called HemisFair. I took this photo with my Swinger camera. It was fun to use, as it developed the picture right then, as you pulled it out of the camera.

Here are a couple of magnets I picked up when we visited Las Vegas NV, and Saint Louis MO. We got to see all the sights!

 

Do you like long vacation or lots of mini-vacations?

We don’t really take many vacations, as such. We go to visit family, or because we were stationed there while in the Army. There are a few times I’ve been on an actual vacation. I’d rather take short trips.

What is your favorite natural or state park?

My favorite would be Ft. Davis TX, out of several I’ve visited.

 img_4922

What is your fantasy vacation?

If we were to go on a vacation now, and it was my choice of where…well, that’s hard to say. I love the mountains. I’d like to see the Great Smoky Mountains. I wouldn’t want to do camping out. I’d need to have a nice hotel with all the luxury provided. Then again, I’d like to do a few nights of staying in ghostly/haunted hotels. Quite a bit of difference between these!

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

Just grateful to be here, lots of laughs, great weather, and no drama to speak of. More of the same, please! 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

14 responses »

  1. You might like Jerome, Arizona. Lots of spookiness about the old mining town. It’s on the mountain side and almost has a Mediterranean feel, not that I’ve been to the Mediterranean, but it boast beautiful structures and lots of stairs. Also the Asylum restaurant is noted for good food, but a bit of haunting. Here’s an article if you’re interested. It’s the local newspaper:
    http://www.azcentral.com/story/news/local/arizona-contributor/2016/10/18/jerome-grand-hotel-most-haunted-place-arizona/92340696/

    • Thanks, Sharon! I’ve heard of Jerome. I’d sure love to stay at that hotel. The article you sent was so interesting! I imagine our big travel days are over, but I sure like reading about these kinds of places. I just enjoy dealing with the ghosts we have here at the house now. They are tricky, but at least they are friendly. 🙂

  2. I’ve had several long weekends in the Great Smoky Mountains 🙂 It’s not so far for me. There are plenty of gorgeous cabins to rent or nice hotels to stay in, too.
    And see, I’ve seen the Statue of Liberty, too — I really struggled with that question!
    They’ve got some funky new kinda Polaroid type camera now. I’m a bit intrigued…

    • My cousin and his dad just got back from a camping trip in the Smoky’s. They showed some good photos on FB. Somehow I’m drawn to that part of the country, yet I’ve never got to go. It is so beautiful there. I know…hard to pick just one favorite historic/famous place or vacation area, when we’ve been to so many! I think I saw an ad about the new camera type. Sounded pretty cool. 🙂

  3. I simply LOVE Ft Davis! George and I spent a week there when he was stationed at Ft Bliss (El Paso). We went camping once, with my youngest son, my sister, and brother in law. Our first encounter with a Javelina was there..and our dog’s first encounter with a skunk! George and I spent three days at the hotel too. Lovely place.

    • Isn’t Ft. Davis and the whole area just wonderful! We stayed at Indian Lodge, and ate supper at the Limpia Hotel once. Visited the McDonald Observatory, and Marfa to see the spook lights. The old recreated Ft. Davis buildings and visitor center were so interesting, too. Yes, we saw the wild Javelina and the deer roaming around. I’d like to go back there some day. 🙂 Poor puppy and the skunk ecounter!

    • Thank you so much, Cee! I do love answering the questions here on SYW, because sometimes I just don’t have a clue what to write about, so your challenges keep me busy! Yay! 🙂

  4. My, you have been to a lot of interesting places. I’m pretty much a stay at home, but t would be nice to see other places – if I didn’t have to travel to get there: 😀

    • Thanks, Oneta! We’ve been lucky to have seen a lot of the world. I’m like you, I like seeing different things, but actually traveling to them is so tiring! These days we mostly stay home! 🙂

Leave a Reply

