JINX CAR

Standard

Before being on Word Press I was posting over on the Blogger site. Sometimes, I like to transfer some posts from there to here, because honestly, almost no one ever saw/read them over there. This is one of those. I wrote it for the A to Z Blog Challenge – Letter J, on April 11, 2014. 🙂

***

JINX CAR

Thank you for visiting! Comments welcome! Happy reading!

JINX CAR

We owned a jinx car. Yes, we did. It was a pre-owned ’66 or ’67 Chevrolet Caprice. A big, old, boat of a car, with plush overstuffed seats, electric windows, and temperature controlled air conditioning. I despised that car.

The day we test drove it, it shimmied all over the highway. I think the wheels needed alignment, or something. We bought it, anyway.

First of all, I didn’t even want a different car. We traded in our ’65 Mustang (which I loved), for this monstrosity. Strike one…Strike two…the wheel thing…and well, the strikes kept coming. One thing or another was always wrong with it. You name it, it needed repairs.

When I first drove it up to where I worked at the time, everyone wanted to see our new car. So, out to the parking lot we all went. One girl was not impressed. She took me aside to tell me…this car is a jinx. Seems this very car had just been traded in by her grandparents, and they’d had nothing but trouble from it. I guess back then there were no ‘lemon’ laws or disclosure rules.

Anyway, the jinx car lived up to it’s reputation. We had it for awhile, costing us more in repairs than it was worth. Then, after coming home from overseas, I got that car out of storage. I got rid of it…traded it in…yes, I did. I was surprised the car lot people even gave me a dime for it.

I immediately bought another car that I loved…a ’69 Camaro. Now, that was a car. I looked much better driving a cool Camaro around town, in my twenties, instead of the old jinx car, for sure. And I don’t remember the new one giving us a bit of trouble!

Thank you for reading! Hope you enjoyed hearing about the jinx car!

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

6 responses »

  1. We had a jinx car too. My husband bought a 1975 Dodge Charger the year before we married. We both liked chargers, but I was not a fan of that year. it didn’t really look like a charger. Anyway, after we got married I had occasion to use this car. Well it hated me. It would just stop running on me in the middle of intersections. I hated the car right back. I never shed a tear when we got rid of it. 🙂

    • Dodge Chargers are pretty cool cars, but not if they are jinxed! It would be dangerous to have it stop like that. I’m sure you were happy to be done with that one. 🙂

    • I figure we write our blogs for people to read them, so when absolutely nothing was happening over there, after such a long time, it was time to move over here. I was encouraged by another blogger to do so, and I’m so happy I did. I’m glad you post your older posts here, too, as I do enjoy reading your writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

