WHAT DID YOU SAY? for Stream of Consciousness Saturday – SOCS – Language

Standard

WHAT DID YOU SAY? for Stream of Consciousness Saturday – SOCS – Language

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS May 13/17

***

Today’s prompt word for SOCS is ‘language’. To join in the fun, and see other entries, just click the above link! 🙂

***

Language … this looks like a funny word, the way it’s spelled, and also how it sounds. At least to me it does. Lan – guage…like ‘lan (land) gage/gauge (if you keep transposing the letters from guage, to gauge, like I do. Or it sounds like Lane Gwidge, like someone’s name? That makes me giggle. I don’t half know what I’m typing here, and I’ve had to correct almost every single word for being misspelled and letters switched around. My fingers on the keyboard can feel me typing it wrong, but I can barely see the screen. It’s all blurry because I’m not sitting close enough to it to see what I’m typing. I’m about 2 ft. away, instead of right up on it. There’s 3 lens strengths on my tri-focal glasses, and none of them work very good, not far away, medium, or close vision. I need to go get a new prescription.

Well, anyway, language… despite what I just wrote, which is a bit confusing, I write better than I speak, in language that is. I know what I mean when I talk, but it hardly ever comes out where you know what I’m talking about. So, if I have to stop and explain, start over, tripping over my words and thoughts, it could take awhile. By then the conversation has moved on to something else.

Does anyone remember how they first learned language? I don’t. It’s been fun and interesting to watch my grand-daughter learn language. First were the little sounds, then more random sounds. Somewhere along there, she learned a couple of words like mama and dada. Then more random sounds that weren’t words, but the tone or cadence and inflection was there. This made it sound like she was talking, but not anything we could understand. This went on awhile, until she learned more actual words. Sometimes she’d have her own word for something, and we’d figure out what she meant. Now, at 3 years old, she talks in complete sentences, uses pronouns correctly, and so much more. She loves to talk…and talk…and talk! I love talking to her about all kinds of things. She still throws in a made up word now and again, like this one. Took us awhile to figure it out. It was “Move Dues”, or sounded like it. We asked here what does that mean? She said it means, “Rock and Roll”. Then she started jammin’ out to some rock music. 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017

 

14 responses »

  1. I love that. I had two kids early with all the language and so proficient. Sometimes it was downright eerie! Then I had one who basically refused to speak! Ugh!
    I love the way we learn 🙂 It’s one of the best parts of being in the life of a child!

    • Baby and toddler talk is really fun to hear. They have a brand new way of looking at their world that we adults maybe have never thought of. It is so amazing to hear their ideas and thoughts. And of course we should watch what we say around them, because they will repeat anything! haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

