FRIENDLY FILL-INS

Standard

FRIENDLY FILL-INS

***

https://mcguffysreader.blogspot.com/2017/05/friendly-fill-ins-week-53.html

***

Here are the fill-ins:

1. My favorite cereal is _____________________________.

I like a lot of cereals, but mostly Crispix and Rice Chex. That’s what I usually buy for myself. That is for the cold type cereal. For hot cereal, I really like grits, and oatmeal. You know on the cereal boxes they have some sort of extra thing, like enter to win some contest? Well, I never entered one, but I did happen to get a box of Crispix, and inside was a notice that I’d won! It was a special promotion I guess. Anyway, what I won was a Microsoft Surface iPad. How cool is that? 🙂

2. My prom ___________________________________________.

I only went to my Jr. prom. I was on the planning/decorating committee, so we got to say how it would all look, plus decorating the place where it was held. I think it was at the American Legion Hall here in town. The theme was La’mour est Bleu, and it turned out really good. I didn’t like my prom photo though. I didn’t go to the Sr. prom. Some silly rule about no one could come unless they were enrolled in our school. My boyfriend/now husband wasn’t in school anymore, so we didn’t get to go. Bah!

Here’s some photos and the theme song for our prom.

***

3. The _________ thing about __________ is ___________.

The ‘best’ thing about ‘yard sales/flea markets’ is ‘never knowing what you will find, and then coming across something that is the best thing ever! haha. I love finding those treasures (to me). One of the best finds I found were these really old, dare I say vintage, scrapbooks. There were 12 of them, they were huge, and they were stuffed full of cards, letters, & photos. And…each only cost one dollar! We crammed them all into a little car, and took up all the room, but we kept going to the sales. 🙂

 

4. I cannot help _____________, but __________________.

I cannot help ‘myself’, but ‘I have to look up at the stars every night’. Ever since I was little I’ve done this, dreaming of other worlds, aliens, UFOs. There is something about the night sky that just draws me to it. My family jokes that maybe I am an alien, and someday my ‘real’ family will come back for me! haha

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Š 2017 BS

16 responses »

  1. I think that prom rule was ridiculous. A lot of students have a bf or gf that is out of school already or go to a different school.

    I love yard sales and flea markets!

    • I agree, and there was nothing we could do about ‘the rule’. I’d already bought a dress and had to take it back, when we found out. Oh well, we went on to better times, like getting married! 🙂 .. I love going to the sales, even if I don’t find anything good. It’s fun to look. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I love your answers and the photos of your prom ticket, etc. That is cool that you won an ipad from a cereal contest. My husband loves to look at the stars and gets me out once in a while for a meteorite shower. Have a great weekend!

    • Thank you for stopping by, and your thoughts. I like answering questions, especially when I know something to say. Guess this was one of those times. 🙂 I haven’t had much luck seeing meteors, just a few, when they say there will be tons of them. I do like the eclipses, though.

    • Sure, come on and join in! I like doing questions and answers, too. The link above will take you to their page. Rice Chex are good. I get to having one kind for a long time, then I’ll switch it up to another kind of cereal for awhile. I always come back, though. 🙂

  3. I love looking at the night sky, even here in Dallas where there is so much ground light that you can’t see many of the stars. (Unlike, say Odessa, where there are so many stars that it’s breath-taking if you haven’t seen that view in a while.) I can sit on the patio for hours, watching the stars, listening to the wind, thinking, writing stories in my head. Night is a different animal…

    • Yes, there’s just something special about being out under the stars. Sometimes we get the telescope out, too. We get a really clear view of the stars here, with not much light pollution. Have you been to Ft. Davis, TX? It’s south of Odessa. McDonald Observatory is there, and the night sky is just full of stars you can see. I love it down there!

  4. I am drawn to the night sky, but not for aliens. I feel a strong connection to God. He is there, in the stars and the spaces between them. Your prom sounds fancy! I have not been to a sale in a very long time. There are treasures there! Happy Mother’s Day!

  5. I cannot imagine the push back we would have had if our little country school did not allow people to attend the prom that were not students at the school. Almost everyone was related. Have a great weekend.

  6. I think it is very cool that you won the iPad. Congratulations!
    I think that rule stinks. They should know they were probably cutting out all of the boyfriends of the senior girls. Most girls date boys older than they are. There’s no way on earth I would have dated anybody in my senior class. haha

    I love looking at the night sky, too. We have a beautiful, clear, star-filled sky here tonight. It’s great! For years, we would spend hours outside looking at stars, tracking the ISS, and just enjoying the awesomeness of it all. Our yard here in Texas is so full over trees that we can’t see much of anything up there unless we go stand out in the middle of the road. Not a good idea to do that around here. 🙂 I think that is funny about your “real” family coming for you some day. haha

    It sounds like you made a good haul with those scrapbooks.

    Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

    • Thanks! I still haven’t learned much about using it yet! My dad build his own telescope, so we were always out looking at the night sky. We don’t have a lot of trees around here, so we have a good view. Yes, I sure liked getting those scrapbooks. Everyone said it was silly, but I just love old vintage things, so I was happy with them. Happy Mother’s Day, Suzanne! xo

      • Happy Mother’s Day to you, too, Barbara. 🙂
        How come they thought it was silly to get the scrapbooks? If it makes you happy, I don’t think that is at all silly.
        What fun memories those must be of you and your daddy watching the night sky. It sounds wonderful to me. 🙂
        Have a blessed night.

      • Thanks, Suzanne! I had a nice lunch at my daughter’s house, and got to play with my grand-daughter a little while. … Oh, those scrapbooks … well, probably because I didn’t ‘need’ them, just wanted them. I guess some people only go to the sales to find things that they are looking for to be useful. I don’t know. Or that I was bringing more ‘junk’ into the house. haha … Oh well, that was years ago. I still have them, though. …Some day I should do a post about the telescope…good memories of that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

