I SURVIVED AN F-5 TORNADO

Standard

On the anniversary of the May 11, 1970 tornado, I re-blog my story…I’ll never forget.

teleportingweena

I SURVIVED AN F-5 TORNADO

Wednesday, May 11, 2016, will be the 46th anniversary of the Lubbock, TX tornado. From later assessment of the devastation, it was determined to be rated F-5, the highest on the Fujita scale. This is my story.

***

May 11, 1970, is a date I’ll never forget. I was attending night classes at Draughon’s Business College in downtown Lubbock. We had noticed there was a storm coming, because of some lightning off to the west. Classes were let out early because of that.

My dad was picking me up in my car, but didn’t know we got out early, so I was waiting outside for him, around 9:30 or so. They’d already closed up the building, and only me, and a couple of others, were waiting for our rides. The wind was starting to get gusty. By the time my dad got there, it was…

View original post 894 more words

Leave a Reply

