RANDOM POST # 9 – IRONING OUT THE WRINKLES

Standard

RANDOM POST # 9 – IRONING OUT THE WRINKLES

Continuing the random jobs I’ve had in the past, I will tell you about ironing. I actually wrote this post a few years ago for an A to Z Challenge. 🙂

IRONING

I love to iron. I can hear the gasps now. Ironing is not usually a favorite chore, these days. You might say, why iron, when there are clothes dryers and no-iron fabrics. That is true, but some garments look much better when ironed smooth, or with a crisp crease.

My very first paying job was ironing for people. This was very early on, I wasn’t even a teenager yet, when I began. The fee I charged was 50 cents per dozen items. I raised the fee later on to 75 cents.

I’d started out learning to iron, by doing handkerchiefs and pillow cases, at home. Then, a lady my mom knew, asked if I’d iron her clothes…and she’d pay me. Of course I said yes, and that was it. I could make my spending money doing something I loved to do.

Off and on through the years, I would advertise in the newspapers, on bulletin boards at laundromats, grocery stores and hospitals. My last ironing jobs, the price I charged was one dollar per piece…so, if the person brought twelve items, I’d make twelve dollars. With several customers a week, I was doing pretty well for myself.

I can iron a dozen pieces in less than an hour, and do an excellent job. If you look at it one way, I was earning at least twelve dollars an hour.

I’ve ironed all kinds of clothes, such as heavily starched jeans and short shorts, everyday clothes, uniforms, scrubs, dress shirts and men’s suits. I’ve ironed for teachers, nurses, military, lawyers, judges, funeral directors, and regular work-a-day people. So many people hate to iron, there has never been a problem finding customers willing to pay someone else to do it for them.

Ironing is relaxing to me. The warmth and hiss of the steam iron is soothing. I can use the time to think of things to write about, or listen to music, meditate on problems, and even make a headache go away. So, if you don’t like to iron very much, instead of thinking of it as a dreaded chore, use the time as an island of serenity, a time to reflect, an interlude of peace and calm, to counteract all the really stressful tasks of your day…like doing the floors. I absolutely hate doing that!

Since I posted this a few years ago, I have stopped taking in ironing from the public. Guess you could say I’ve retired from the ironing board. 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017

 

 

4 responses »

  1. I love this post.
    I USED to love to iron. I really did. I still don’t mind it. I like the peace of it. Making everything just so. I get kinda zen. Ironing is so reliably comforting. BUT, sometime around baby #4, I started seeing it as a chore. Deadlines, I think. Ironing on patches, having the uniform ready, blouses before the concert…
    But over the last year or so, I have gone back to liking it. Maybe one day I’ll love it again. 🙂

    • I think that was the word I was looking for, ‘zen’. Since R retired, I really haven’t ironed much of anything. I enjoyed it for a long time, and kinda miss it, but not enough to start doing a bunch of it again.

  2. I’m with you on the ironing front. I do enjoy it, and I actually call it “MY ironing”. I’m a bit OCD with the whole thing. Everything has to be ironed in a certain order beginning with ‘the flats’ ie towels, handkerchiefs then onto trowsers followed by shirts and blouses, with everything else bringing up the rear.Everybody thinks I’m mad.

    • Well, we like what we like, and if ironing for you is enjoyable, then that is wonderful! My mister likes to cook, so he does most of it around here, which I appreciate very much. 🙂 Hope all is going well for you these days, Tony!

Leave a Reply

