I AM NOT AFRAID

Standard

I AM NOT AFRAID

Listen…silence is broken

Lone lobo laments his lonliness

In the still of the sultry night

I am not afraid

Moon flowers look to the stars above

Heat lightning foretells the future

Storm a’coming; I feel it in my bones

I am not afraid

***

***

For dVerse Poets – Quadrille (44 words) # 31 – Still

Use the word ‘still’ in any form we’d like, in a poem only 44 words long.

Quadrille #31

Thanks for hosting, Grace!

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

23 responses »

    • Thanks, Frank! I was a little bit afraid when I took the photo of the lightning. I was hoping I wouldn’t get hit! Guess I talked myself into not being so afraid that I’d give up getting the photo. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Gina! Some things it’s good to be afraid of, and I think your intuition will not lead you astray, if you listen to it. I’m glad you enjoyed reading this one. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Grace! So many times we are afraid of something, yet we have to keep going. It does help to try and convince yourself to be brave. Thanks for hosting, and for the wonderful prompt word. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much. Yes, with the climate of the world in so much unrest, we do have to have something to fall back on, even if it is just repeating positive words to ourselves.

    • Thanks so much, Victoria! I know we’ve all experienced that kind of hush before a storm. It alerts your senses for the coming excitement or fear. Glad you enjoyed reading this one. πŸ™‚

  1. The stillness of the night, and the heat lightning, and the wolf crying. It’s like a western saga come true. I’d be scared too if i was the one taking the picture

    • Thank you, Walter! Now I can imagine a dark, lonely night out on a cattle drive, with the steers getting spooked by the wolf! …I was out on our back porch, with lightning striking all around. I just kept clicking the camera button, hoping I’d get a good shot, before it got me! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

