STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY – SOCS – SPELL

Standard

STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY – SOCS – SPELL

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Apr. 22/17

***

The prompt for today’s SOCS is the word ‘spell’.

***

I’m trying to think of something different to say about this word. So far, not much comes to mind except the usual:

  • the song, “I Put a Spell on You”. Mostly I remember it from the movie, “Hocus Pocus”, when the witches sing the song and put a spell on the people at a Halloween dance.
  • the children’s learning game called “Speak and Spell”. My daughter had one, and she really liked it, and now my grand-daughter has the very same one her mom used as a kid.
  • spelling – I’ve always been good at spelling. There’s a few words I just can’t seem to remember how to spell, though. One of those is the word ‘rhythm’. I was using it the other day for a post and tried it all kinds of ways, then had to look it up. Even after seeing the correct spelling, I couldn’t seem to write/type it the right way. I think I finally did it.
  • the actress Tori Spelling. I like watching her movies, reality show, and when she was on the show, “Beverly Hills 90210”, and reading her books.
  • the phrases, ‘sit a spell’, ‘having a spell’, to ‘spell’ someone (give them a break), and ‘spell-check’ on the computer.
  • spelling games such as Boggle, Words With Friends, Scrabble, and Jumble. I like all of those.

So, all those are pretty common thoughts about the word ‘spell’.

One more little thing I tried … Take the word ‘spelling’ and see how many other words you can make using just those letters. I spent about a minute or two, and got 10. Give it a try! πŸ™‚

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

16 responses »

  1. I love word games πŸ™‚

    SPELL, LING, ILL, ELL, LIE, SELL, GEL, PILE, GINS, GINS, LISP, GLEN, SILL, GILL

    I’d love to play word games all the livelong day!

Leave a Reply

