DEAR DIARY – JULY 1 – 12, 1961

Standard

DEAR DIARY – JULY 1 – 12, 1961

***

For those who haven’t seen my Dear Diary posts before, a little explanation. This is my actual diary I wrote in for a full year, when I was 10 years old. I wrote every day, sometimes a lot, sometimes a little, sometimes funny, sometimes boring, but it was all recorded. Names of relatives are only first initials with relationship in parentheses. I’ve typed the entries just as I wrote them, mis-spellings and all, but corrected in parentheses. More posts of Dear Diary can be found by using catagories, or search box. Hope you enjoy reading my childhood diary! 🙂

GE DIGITAL CAMERA
Dear Diary,
7/1/61 – We went thru some towns. At Dumas (TX) B’s (uncle) car broke down. He went to get another car.
7/2/61 – We went through some towns.
7/3/61 – We went through some towns.
7/4/61 – We went through some towns. We came to M’s (aunt in Idaho). We ate outside.
7/5/61 – I played. We rode some horses.
7/6/61 – I played. We ate outside.
7/7/61 – I played. We ate outside.
7/8/61 – I played. Daddy went fishing.
7/9/61 – I played. Daddy came home
7/10/61 – I played. I went to J’s (another aunt in Idaho). I played with J (boy cousin). We left for home.
7/11/61/ – We went through some towns.
7/12/61 – We came home. I went to bed.
***
I guess I was so busy traveling and playing I didn’t have time to write much.
Here’s what I remember, though.
About 100 miles from home my uncle’s car broke down on our big trip to Idaho to visit family. There was a big discussion among the adults of whether to cancel the whole trip, or not. He decided to drive back home to get another car. Don’t know how that was managed with a broke down car. Maybe two of the men went to do this exchange, then drive all the way back. I do know my mom, sister, aunt, and others all stayed in the little town overnight, in a motel, while the men did their car business. I thought that was the most fun thing ever, staying in a motel. I’d never stayed in one before. Much later down the years, my mom said it was the most awful motel ever. haha But, to a kid, it was exciting.
We traveled from TX to Idaho, going through Colorado, and Utah. We stopped at the Royal Gorge in CO, for some sightseeing. We also stopped in Salt Lake City, Utah, to see the Mormon Temple, and a museum (where I saw actual mummies!)
At my aunt’s home in Idaho, we did get to ride horses. They raised Appaloosa horses. I remember one little colt named Taffy. We did eat outside a lot, my cousins and I played a lot.
I think we took a different route back home, because I remember seeing Pike’s Peak in the distance, and we were at the 4 corners states, and seeing Ship Rock in New Mexico. As soon as we got back to Texas, we started singing all the songs we could think of about Texas. We had a fun trip, but it was good to get back home. 🙂
***
Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{
© 2017 BS

 

 

8 responses »

      • It’s amazing! But my dad did take a long, out of the way route back to avoid going back over the bridge. 🙂

      • I sure understand that. Bridges are really cool, but those kind of scary ones…just no… used to go way out of my way to avoid the one in Corpus Christi! 🙂

Leave a Reply

