FRIENDLY FILL-INS – 3/17/17

Standard

FRIENDLY FILL-INS – 3/17/17

https://mcguffysreader.blogspot.com/

***

Here are the fill-ins:

  1. The oldest item in my home is _____________________.
  1. The oldest item in my refrigerator is _____________.
  1. My family heritage is _____________________________.
  1. My favorite family tradition is __________________.

***

Here are my answers…

  1. The oldest item in my home is …a pink, lace, baby bonnet dated 1842. Here’s a photo of it, with the paper that tells who it belonged to and the year. I found it at a yard sale with a bunch of other things of this type, all dated. I’m always finding antique/vintage things. They are fascinating, and makes me wonder about the people and the stories behind the items. I have things from this 1842 bonnet, on up, including letters from soldiers in WWI and WWII, WWII War Ration coupons, hair clips, bow ties, and even graveyard flowers from over a century ago.

2. The oldest item in my refrigerator is … Well, I just cleaned out our refrigerator yesterday, so I would guess some condiments. I’m almost out of Ranch Dressing, so probably that would be the oldest, even though it isn’t that old.

3.  My family heritage is … Native American, German, Irish

4. My favorite family tradition is… I don’t think we have any any more. We used to do Christmas and Thanksgiving with family, and we do now, with our daughters and their families. We weren’t living around extended family for a lot of years, since we moved with the Army, so we just did whatever we felt like for the holidays, which was pretty unconventional at times.

Another somewhat weird but fun one is going to yard sales. We’ve been doing this on the weekends for as long as I can remember. My mom, me, and my girls, and now they go and take their kids. My sister, and grandmothers would go sometimes, too. My brother-in-law goes and makes a business out of trading and selling what he finds. It’s all fun. 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

16 responses »

  1. Thank you for participating in the fill-ins, great answers. That bonnet is cool and so are all the other items you listed. It is fun to wonder about the history of old items. I am impressed that you just cleaned your fridge, I clearly need to do that more often. Have a great weekend!

    • You’re welcome! I do love answering questions, and these are some good ones. I do like finding old things at yard sales. To me it’s not just a bunch of junk, it’s someones history, like you say. …Ugh, I’m not fond of cleaning at all, but my computer was in the shop being repaired, and I had to do something around here to keep busy! haha … Hope your weekend is going good, too! 🙂

  2. It is fun stuff, yard sale stuff. Sadly, much of it happens in the morning and I sleep through it 😉 Best I can do is thrifting!
    Being unconventional has, at times, seemed to be/ became a tradition. (So say the military families.)

    • I know, those yard sales get started so early! Even we miss out on some because of that, and then they want to close up by noon! I don’t get it. I do love the thrift stores, though. I need to make a trip over there real soon. … Yep, military families are great at doing it our own way! 🙂

  3. Yard selling just isn’t as fun here…seems like everyone is just selling their old newer stuff, if that makes sense. I miss finding treasures! Will keep trying 😉

    • Aww, sorry Kelly. I do know what you mean, and I don’t like those kind of sales either. If I want ‘new’ stuff, I’ll go to a store to get it. At yard sales, I want interesting things. Of course E wants to look at toys and little girl clothes, so I usually hope there is something for me to look at, too! What I don’t like is when they advertise the sale as a huge, giant one, then when you get there, it’s only a few piddly things. haha! 🙂

  4. How cool that you have all of those antiques and special treasures, especially such an old baby bonnet. 🙂

    Our traditions have become maybe not so traditional anymore, too. This year will have even more changes when it gets to the holidays. There are some things that I wish would have just continued being the same.

    Have a blessed weekend, Barbara. 🙂

    • I have no idea why I buy things like the old treasures of someone else. I just like them, even though I don’t know what to do with them. It’s fun to find. …Yes, traditions change as the family changes, and I know I miss the days when everyone could be together for holidays. We get used to the new normal, though. … Wishing you a great weekend, too! xo

      • How long does it take to get used to the new normal? It seems about the time I get adjusted, something comes along to change things again.

        I like other folks’ treasures, too. I go into the antique stores and see the portraits hanging on the wall and think how sad it is that these photos that were once important to someone are separated from their family now. I’d love to know the stories behind them. If I could afford it, both in money and space, I’d bring them home.
        Have you thought about putting the baby bonnet and its tag in a shadow box? How do you store/display it? I think it would be neat to have it and its tag, along with photos of the bonnet from several different angles (detail shots), displayed in a shadow box, especially as a decoration in a nursery. 🙂

        Thanks!

      • I guess getting used to the new normal depends on how soon you get into the new routine. Then again, everything changes little by little, so probably there is no such thing as ‘normal’, and we just have to go with the flow, as they say. … That’s a good idea, to put the baby bonnet into a shadow box. Right now it’s just in the box of stuff it came in, and up in the closet. 🙂

    • Thanks, Stacy! I love going to the sales, even though I don’t ‘need’ anything. It’s just fun to see what I can find. You never know what will turn up. Hope you get to go to some soon! 🙂

    • Thanks! I like cemeteries too, especially the old ones with interesting headstones. One time my daughter and visited the one here, reading the inscriptions. Then we made up epitaphs for each other, some serious, some hilarious ones, too. Mostly I just try to feel the spirits of the souls buried there, and wonder what their stories are.

Leave a Reply

