6:29 a.m.

Standard

***

6:29 a.m.

If I was the me now, back then,

I’d have to remember when you asked for the Skyy

I asked why, and gave you a

Buttered Moon and honey

Just bring lots of quarters for money…

na na na na na … na na na na na

Your Words into a poem, my rose

You’re the light bulb to my verse and prose

Come joyride down our memory’s lane

There’s no one left to blame

na na na na na … na na na na na

***

***note*** this poem came about from a conversation on Face Book. I had permission to change the words around to form a poem. I do think you can find poetry anywhere you look. The title is taken from the time I was reading the FB comments πŸ™‚

***

For dVerse Poets Open Link Night # 191

Open Link Night # 191

Thank you for hosting, Gayle

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

26 responses »

  1. This is proof positive that you can find inspiration for poetry anywhere and make it your own. I thought the “na nas” were a great touch too, Barbara!

    • Thanks so much! You just never know when you’ll get an idea from what is going on around you. That makes it fun. The na nas were actually part of the conversation, too. πŸ™‚ It kind of read like a song with those in there.

    • Thank you so much, Bee! Glad you enjoyed this one. I’m honored you would think of me for the award. However, I do already have this one, so possibly you could pass it on to someone else. Thanks, again! Enjoy your weekend. πŸ™‚

  2. I liked the line freshly replacing the “muse” with a “light bulb” although the light bulb would not be conscious like a muse would be: “You’re the light bulb to my verse and prose”

    • Thank you, Frank! I’m happy for your visit and comment. The light bulb was part of the FB conversation, so I just worked it in, as the words would be a light of an idea for the poem. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much, Beverly! Glad you enjoyed this one. It was a funny FB conversation that just struck me as needing to be a poem. I like when it happens like that. Enjoy your weekend! πŸ™‚

    • Hi, Bjorn! Thanks for stopping by to read. It’s true, at least for me, that just about anything can spark an idea for a poem. Wishing you a happy weekend! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

