STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY – SOCS – PROJECT

Standard

STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY – SOCS – PROJECT socsbadge2016-17

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Mar. 4/17

***

The prompt word of the day is, ‘project’. We can use it any way we want. To join in the fun, and see other entries, click the above link.

***

img_1366

The photo above is of my film projector, my super 8 movie camera, and some old reels of horror movies. I found the reels at a yard sale years ago. I used the camera quite a bit back when the kids were little, and still have all the reels of film. I haven’t looked at them in a long time, though. I should once in awhile. I don’t know if they even have film for the old camera any more. Could be people wouldn’t even know what you do with such an old style camera and projector.

It was a big deal when my parents took home movie film, when my sister and I were kids. If we were indoors, they had these huge flood lights to hook onto the camera. Then, when the film had been sent off and processed, we’d have a movie showing night in the living room. They had an actual screen to put up, so we could see better. For ours, we just showed them on a blank, white wall, which was good enough.

When we were in school, it was a wonderful day, when the teacher would say we could watch some film in the classroom. The audio/visual people would come set up the projector and reel of film. Mostly, the films were educational of something we’d been studying, and in black and white. It was neat, though, to pull down the window blinds, turn off the lights, and get to watch it for a little while. It made a nice break from our usual school days.

Did any of you have your own movie camera and projector? Do you remember the films they showed at school?:)

*** click the photo to enlarge … see the old movie films!

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

18 responses »

  1. I loved seeing films and slides in school. It did seem to break up the day a bit more.

    We have some videos, but not too many. Seldom watch them…

    • Those we would see at school weren’t very entertaining at all, but it was something we all looked forward to, anyway. πŸ™‚ I have quite a few old film reels, and should look at them someday, too.

  2. I never had a movie camera, but my godmother did and so did my stepfather. I think my brother got all of Tex’s movies and converted some of them to VHS, but I have no idea what Fabulous Auntie Jill did with her movies.

    • My dad had all he had transferred to VHS. I have them now. Not sure what ever happened to the actual reels. Maybe my sister has them, now. The thing is, finding a VHS player to watch them on. We have one with the DVD player, too, but last time I tried it, it didn’t work. I’m amazed that I can take little videos with my phone now. πŸ™‚

      • A lot of camera stores (yes, they’re still around) have VHS-to-DVD services. It costs a few bucks (not sure how much, since I’ve never used them) but it’s worth it if you want to be able to see the movies again. I’ve also seen hardware that can take you from VHS to DVD. You might want to check Best Buy.

  3. Oh my yes! Told Donny we are going to have to dig it out now πŸ’•! Great memories. Love the sound of a movie projector running….

    • Oh yes, there’s that sound of the projector and film running through it. Ours was just silent, no voice recordings, but sure glad we have what we do have. Dad put his all on VHS tape, so I have those now. Y’all have fun watching, when you do get your home movies out! πŸ™‚

  4. We had an 8mm camera and projector growing up… many years ago, my Mom had the old family reels converted to vhs… now I SHOULD convert the vhs to dvd, or maybe beta for lasting endurance… πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad my parents had the movie camera when my sister and I were little. We never knew what to do when the camera was aimed at us, though. Mostly we just acted silly! I have them on VHS now, but technology keeps on advancing, doesn’t it. πŸ™‚

  5. p.s. When I was in high school, I worked in the school library as an A-V volunteer… I was the geek who would deliver and setup the movie projectors, slide projectors, reel-to-reel tape players in the morning before classes would start! That also made me the in class “go-to” guy when the things wouldn’t work like they were supposed to… it was fun!

  6. This certainly holds memories for me. We did not have much expendable money. I so longed for a camera and projector. Finally we decided to go all out for Christmas and bought equipment for our married son’s family so we could watch out grandsons grow. We bought a projector for ourselves also. I don’t remember whether or not we bought ourselves a camera. But the bad news – technology moved too fast and we never used it before it was obsolete. I kept the projector for years. I think I finally gave it to the Salvation Army.

    • That’s how we got our camera and projector. My parents got it for us to take movies of our kids growing up, then we could send the film back home. We did this for a little while, but then just got busy and forgot to do any more. I still have a film that hasn’t even been developed yet, and it has to be at least 30 + years ago. Wonder if it’s still any good! πŸ™‚

  7. We have our wedding reception on movie film that was taken by my husband’s uncle. One of these days we need to have it converted to DVD. We have watched the film on my in-laws old movie projector. We don’t have our own projector.

Leave a Reply

