51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST – WEEK 8

Standard

51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST – WEEK 8  51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 8: Glen Campbell – Rhinestone Cowboy

Thank you, Hugh, for creating this fun challenge!

***

The song I chose for this week is, “Cowboy Take Me Away”, by the Dixie Chicks. It was released in 1999, on the “Fly” album/Monument label, and written by Martie Seidel and Marcus Hummon.

***

I must say that I love all the Dixie Chicks songs, so it was hard to pick just one. You could say that I’m partial to the Dixie Chicks, because we have been long time friends with the extended family of Natalie Maines. My mother-in-law, and Natalie’s grandmother were very good friends from way back. My father-in-law also worked with her grandfather for many years. My husband was friends with their sons, who also have a singing career, and are known as the Maines Brothers Band.

We visited many times at their house, and her grandmother visited at my house, too. They all have passed on now, however. (RIP) During our visits at their house, my girls and all of their grandkids, including Natalie, would be running around the house playing. We even stayed the night over there once.

So, excuse the name-dropping, but I’m happy to have known this wonderful family.

I’ve also been lucky enough to have seen the Dixie Chicks in concert twice now. Their performances are excellent! 🙂

***

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 9: Lieutenant Pigeon – Mouldy Old Dough – Hugh's Views & News

Leave a Reply

