STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY – SOCS – HAM

Standard

STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS SATURDAY – SOCS – HAM socsbadge2016-17

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Feb. 18/17

***

The prompt word for today is ‘ham’.

What’s to say about ham? I like to eat ham. Ham sandwiches are good, and so is fried ham. Here’s what I like for a meal with ham: fried ham pieces, black-eyed peas, cornbread, green onions, and fresh grown tomatoes. We don’t have this very often, for some reason, but we should. Deviled ham sandwiches are good, with mustard. Baked ham is good for Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner.

Ham is the first part of hamster. Those are the cute little rodents people keep as pets. I never had one, but we had gerbils. Gerbils are cute, but they are not hamsters. I wonder why hamsters were called hamsters? Was the person who thought up the name hungry for ham? I hope they didn’t eat the cute little critter. I wouldn’t want to eat one, even if it did taste like ham.

Ham is a word that brings a bit of sadness to me, now. Every time I see or think of ‘ham’, I remember my friend. We knew each other for years and years, and a few years ago we started playing the online game, “Words With Friends”. The very first word she put on the board was ‘ham’. Why I remember that, I have no idea…just one of those bits of trivia that sticks in your mind. We had fun playing and talking about the game, and now she is gone. She passed away a couple of years ago. I miss her. It’s a reminder of her now, when I see the word ‘ham’.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

