51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST – WEEK 6

Standard

51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST – WEEK 651-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 6: Katy Perry – Firework

Thanks, Hugh, for hosting this fun challenge.

***

This week for the Songs From the Past challenge I’ve chosen one by Paul Revere and the Raiders. This band was my favorite back in the 60s, and I liked all their songs. They were featured on Dick Clark’s television show, “Where the Action Is”, which came on every afternoon. Then, when they took the show on tour, they came to our town. My best friend and I got tickets to go see them, and all the other bands that were traveling along. That might have been the first concert I ever went to, and it was a dream come true for me and my friend.

It was the early spring of 1966, a beautiful sunny day, and we were  both 15 years old. The concert was amazing. Afterwards, we made our way out to the back of the venue to see the band as they got on their tour bus to leave. I was waving and hollering, and I know for a fact that one of the guys saw me, smiled, and waved back to me.

Such good memories of that day, and hearing this song and all their other ones bring me right back to that day. 🙂

***

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 7: Mama Cass – Make Your Own Kind Of Music – Hugh's Views & News

Leave a Reply

