RANDOM POST # 4 – CURTAIN JOB

Standard

RANDOM POST # 4 – CURTAIN JOB

***

Well, here I am again with a random post. I’d started doing these way back in September, then got sidetracked with other things.

This one is getting back to telling about the many jobs I’ve had in the past. I’m not even sure of the order, but this one is from when we lived in Lawton, OK.

It was at a mobile home manufacturing plant. The name of the company was “Town & Country Mobile Home Mfg. Co.”, and they built mobile homes as they say, from the ground up…from nothing but materials, to finished and for sale mobile homes.

My job was at the very end of the production line. I got to do a bit of decorating. I think my job title was probably ‘curtain hanger’. First I would have to take long, lightweight pipes, measure and cut them, and put the finishing ends onto them. These were curtain rods for the mobile homes. After doing the pipe cutting, I’d go into the home to hang them up on all the windows. I also hung up shower curtains. It was a fun job. While I was doing that, there were others in there doing some cleaning up of any dust and debris left from the making of the home. For some reason they would use this cleaning substance that smelled really good to me. I asked what it was, and they told me it was Naptha. I didn’t know what that was, but now I’ve looked it up. Seems, it is used as a cleaning fluid, among other uses, such as soap making. However, it is a petroleum product, and can be dangerous and flammable.

Anyway, at Christmas time the company gave everyone a big turkey to take home. 🙂

I don’t know why I left that job, but probably because we moved again, as being with the U.S Army, we moved a lot.

trailer-155658__340

Photo found on Pixabay

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace

© 2017 BS

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

