51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST- WEEK 4

Standard

51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM THE PAST WEEK 4 51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 4: Village People – Y.M.C.A.

***

Thanks, Hugh, for starting this musical challenge! πŸ™‚

Back again with another song from the past! This challenge is fun because I like looking up all these old songs. They remind me of what I was doing when they were popular and played on the radio all the time.

So, this song is titled, “Red Rubber Ball”, and performed by the band called The Cyrkle. It was released in 1966, and written by Paul Simon (of Simon & Garfunkle), and Bruce Woodley (of the Seekers).

I think I was about 15 at the time, and was in, or had just finished 9th grade. I took a home-making class in 9th grade, where we learned cooking, and sewing. It was a lot of fun, and they offered a bonus class in the summer, so I signed up for that. It was very informal, but we were learning more about sewing, which I did like. We could listen to the radio while in class doing our sewing projects. (I did make several items of clothing to get me started off going to high school in the fall). This song, “Red Rubber Ball” was played a lot and we’d all be singing along to it. Us being silly girls, we’d all giggle and emphasize the world ‘rubber’. Read what you will into it, but that is my funny memory of this song. πŸ™‚

***

***

9 responses »

  1. In my neighborhood, “Red Rubber Ball” was everyone’s first record. It’s a great song with simple but meaningful lyrics and a catchy tune. Every time I hear it I still sing along.

    • That’s great that you remember one of the first records people you knew would get. Not sure what mine was, that I bought with my own money, but it might have been “Tie Me Kangaroo Down Sport’, and then the Beatles happened, and the music we were hearing changed history. πŸ™‚

      • Rolf Harris! I saw him on an old episode of “To Tell The Truth.” He was one of the contestants, and after the match he sang that song. Years later, I bought a book about cartooning that he had written. Seemed like quite a character.

      • That’s right. I used to watch the old “To Tell the Truth” TV shows. Didn’t see him on that one, but I’ll bet the panel was surprised. I’ll have to look up his cartooning book. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 5: Hazell Dean – Who’s Leaving Who – Hugh's Views & News

Leave a Reply

