GLASS – for SOCS & JUST JOT IT JANUARY

Standard

GLASS for SOCS & JUST JOT IT JANUARY jjj-2017 socsbadge2016-17

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS and #JusJoJan Jan. 21/17

***

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday and Just Jot It January is: “glass.” Use the word “glass,” or find something that’s made of it and use that in your post. Have fun!

***

This is what I thought of after I thought of the usual thoughts of ‘glass’, like glasses you wear, and glasses you drink from, and just plain old glass things. Well, that was a silly sentence, and I never did say the word I thought of, which was a word I’ve always heard of, but evidently didn’t come close to what it meant, or even the spelling of it. I got that wrong, too. You ready for the word? I’ll say it now… ‘Isinglass’… I thought it was spelled with an e, so I looked it up…eising glass, which was shown to me to be wrong. Hmm…now to the meaning of it. It’s a pretty sounding word, isn’t it? Isinglass… like Icing on a cake, or icicles, or frost on a window. Well, to my horror it was none of those things. It was something that was to me frightfully creepy!

In my own words, from reading the definition on Wikipedia, it means some sort of gelatinous substance made from the bladders of fish. Horrors!!! And worse, it is used in food/drink we consume, like beer and wine, and I don’t know what all, but it sounds gross! Really, I can’t use enough exclamation points on this, it’s so awful!!!

Anyway, now I know what isinglass means and you do, too. Don’t thank me for this information. It’s too …well, it’s just too….!!

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2017 BS

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. ‘Isinglass’ does sound like it would frost on the window or something to that effect. Now I am off to the kitchen to look at the labels on jars and cans to be sure it’s not in my food 😀

Leave a Reply

