51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM the PAST

Standard

51 WEEKS/51 SONGS FROM the PAST – week 3 51-weeks-51-songs-from-the-past

51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 3: Sailor – A Glass Of Champagne

***

Here we are, another week, another song from the past.

This time I chose, “Band of Gold” by Freda Payne. I always liked this song, and like to sing along to it. It was released on April 25 1970, and was played on the radio a lot. It brings back a memory for me that is terrifying!

It was May 11, 1970. I was going to evening/night classes at a business college at the time. I always drove my car there and back, but this time, the car needed some kind of servicing. I drove to the school, and my dad came later to get the car to have it fixed, then was going to pick me up after class. So far, so good, no problem. It was around 5 p.m. that I drove off to my class, and this song was playing on the radio. It was a very hot day, and the car had no air-conditioner. Later that evening, after dark, we kept hearing thunder outside the open windows of the classroom. We then got an announcement that classes would be let out early because of the approaching storm.

I wondered if my dad would happen to show up early to pick me up. This was before cell phones, and I didn’t have a way to call him. So, me and a few other students who were waiting for their rides just waited outside on the sidewalk. It had started raining by then. A few minutes later my dad showed up, and we took off for home. That was when we were hit by the F5 tornado!

It was the scariest time I’ve ever experienced. We finally did make it home, many hours later.

Now, whenever I hear that song, “Band of Gold”, it brings back all those memories. I call it the tornado song, but I still like it.

To read about my night of the tornado, click this link:

http://wp.me/p3RE1e-1k1

***

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

5 responses »

  1. Scary! Just a few minutes and your story may have been different. Downtown was awful. We were in a cellar on the NW corner of 33rd and Quaker during that storm. Our neighborhood was missed but I remember driving through the devastation. A sight I will never forget. Oh! We had 4 dogs that all had puppies within days of each other that year. I remember my Dad running back and forth listening for an update on the car radio in the garage in between rounding up all the puppies and passing them to us in the cellar. Imagine, 3 kids, 30+ puppies, 4 nursing Mommy dogs, hail storm and a tornado on the way…surprised my Dad joined us down there! πŸ™€

    • Oh my goodness, Kelly! What a story you have of that night! Glad y’all were able to be in the cellar. So many dogs and puppies, I can just imagine it all happening, with your dad rounding them all up. I know the downtown area was messed up for a long time.

  2. What a memory, Barbara. Just goes to show that music can be stronger than some life events. I know the song well, but it’s another one I don’t hear being played much anymore. Thanks for bringing it up from the music archives.

  3. Pingback: 51 Weeks: 51 Songs From The Past: Week 4: Village People – Y.M.C.A. – Hugh's Views & News

Leave a Reply

