My First Request!

Standard

My First Request!

***

I have had a request!

I was asked by a blogging friend if I had some photos of the Big Bend area of Texas, since I’d visited there a few years ago. I was happy to say that, yes I did, and I would post some for her to see.

Thanks for asking, Suzanne! It’s my pleasure!

You can find Suzanne at her wonderful blog, called McClendon Villa, by clicking this link. I know you would enjoy her blog very much. https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/about/

***

These photos are part of the Big Bend area in far south-west Texas. These are from the Ft. Davis surroundings. Other nearby towns included in this area that we visited (not pictured) were Alpine, Marfa, Balmorhea, and Monahans. They all are within driving distance of each other and have their own unique sights to see. Just google those towns to find out about them. There are professional photos and write ups about their attractions.

Hope you enjoy the photos! πŸ™‚

img_4924 img_4920 img_4917 img_4923 img_4922 IMG_3700 IMG_3699 IMG_3702 IMG_2583 IMG_2585 IMG_2587 IMG_2552 IMG_2548 IMG_2051 IMG_2050

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2017 BS

8 responses »

  1. Thank you, Barbara, for sharing these photos and for the shout out! Fort Davis looks like a wonderful place to visit. Those rock formations are beautiful! And, of course, there have to be spiders. haha I’m a spider buffet special. πŸ™‚ Do you know what kind of spider that is? Is it a wolf spider?

    Are those rental cabins in the photos or folks’ houses? What all did you do there? Did you see any rattlesnakes?

    I’m going to look up Fort Davis and see how far it is from here. Maybe David and I could go there some day, too. πŸ™‚

    Thanks again for sharing your photos of your fun adventure. Have a great night and a blessed day!

    • You’re welcome, Suzanne!. …Yes, the spider is a tarantula. We have them around here, too. We called this one Terry haha! The houses/cabins? The wooden ones with the flag pole, those were a recreation of the barracks the Army soldiers stayed in I think, and maybe with their families, back when Ft. Davis was an active post.The white adobe looking ones, is Indian Lodge, a wonderful place to rent rooms while staying there. We had a room in there, and they have a wonderful restaurant “The Black Bear” that has the best food! .. Didn’t see any snakes. Saw some deer and wild javelina pigs roaming around. There were warnings to watch out for black bears, but we didn’t see any. We visited McDonald Observatory up on the highest mountain in TX. It’s a giant telescope and visitors center. Really cool place. πŸ™‚

      • I bet that observatory would be great fun to visit! I love star-gazing. πŸ™‚ What kind of food did The Black Bear have?
        Do you know if tarantulas are down here in our part of Texas? I sure hope I never find one of those in the house. The ones we get are creepy enough and they chew on me far too often. I think it is funny that you named it Terry. πŸ™‚
        Thanks for explaining about the cabins. When I looked it up earlier, I saw some building ruins there, too. Did you get to go inside those ruins?
        That place looks like a really fun adventure. πŸ™‚
        Have a blessed weekend!

      • The McDonald observatory is up a long twisty road to the highest peak in TX I think. It is so dark at night, as there is a law? thing? where no lights are permitted so the telescope can see the stars better. It is huge! They have what they call ‘star parties’ you can attend, and a really nice information/lecture program, and a nice gift shop. .. Can’t remember all we ate at the restaurant at Indian Lodge, but all was really good, but remember the breakfast oatmeal was the best I ever had. We didn’t get to go into the cabin/replication rooms, just looked in the windows. πŸ™‚ Not sure about trantulas being over your way. xo Blessed Sunday! xo

Leave a Reply

