DEAR DIARY – May 27 – June 7, 1961

Standard

DEAR DIARY – MAY 27 – June 7, 1961

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Dear Diary,

5/27/61 – I played all day. C & E (great aunt and uncle) came over Grandmas.

5/28/61  – I played. We went to church. When we got home I played with J (cousin)

5/29/61 – I went to school. when I came home I played. Grandpa came over.

5/30/61 – I played with J (cousin). She and V (cousin) spent the night.

5/31/61 – I went to school. It was the last day. When I came home we went to the store. Then to the dime store.

6/1/61 – I played. It was mother’s birthday. We went to town. I got her a  box of powder, and a vace (vase) of flowers. P (sister) got her a bottle of perfume. N (aunt) got her a perfume bottle. J (cousin) and D (cousin) got her some flowers. I spent the night over J’s (cousin)

6/2/61 – I played all day. J (cousin) and i played in the water. Then we went to the driving range. (golf).  B (aunt) went with us.

6/3/61 – We played. We went to get Dusty (our dog) and Toro (grandma’s dog) vaxanatied (vaccinated). Then we went to Grannys. T (uncle) was over. Granny went home with him. We went to the dime store. We got a 101 Dalmations set. (I think this was one of those Playform vinyl punch-out & stick on a scene things that was so popular back then.)

6/4/61 – I played. We went to Grandmas. Then we went to B’s (aunt) Daddy and H (uncle) went glofing (golfing) at night. Grand pa came over and ate supper with us.

6/5/61 – I played. I gathered Black berries. We went to town. We bought a desk. When we came home I played. M & O (friends of parents) came over. A storm came.

6/6/61 – I played all day. Mother got a permenint (permanent for her hair)

6/7/61 – We went to town. Then we went to the Bakery.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

8 responses »

    • Thanks, Oneta! I imagine we did play hard in those days, and was mostly outside. We sure didn’t have video games to stare at, so we had to use our imagination. 🙂 Happy New Year to you, also!

  1. Always LOVE the diary entries! Thanks for sharing. Curious, were you gathering blackberries in our hometown? Don’t think I know their ‘season.’

    • Thanks, Kelly! Glad you’re enjoying reading these. Those black berries…well, our neighbor had a black berry bush/vine ? right up next to our fence. Some of it grew through to our side and I always picked off the ripe ones. It was always sometimes in the summer. 🙂

      • Good idea. I wish I’d kept my later diares though. I guess I destroyed the evidence of what was in them, because I have never seen them again. Wouldn’t be posting any of that for sure! haha

Leave a Reply

