CEE’S SHARE YOUR WORLD 12/19/16 – WEEK 51 – HOLIDAY EDITION

Standard

CEE’S SHARE YOUR WORLD 12/19/16/ – WEEK 51 – HOLIDAY EDITION sywbanner

Share Your World – 2016 Week 51 – Favorite Holiday Edition

***

It’s time for more questions from Cee, and answers from me! πŸ™‚

***

What is your favorite holiday?

I do like all the holidays, the big ones, and the little ones. My favorite though, is Halloween! It’s been my favorite ever since I can remember. I like the atmosphere of spookiness, the costumes, the parties, and the decorations. I’d have my whole house decorated as Halloween all year, if I could.

blogger-image-878065477What types of food is associated with your holiday?

Candy, mostly, for the trick or treat kids that come by the house. Of course I have some to eat, also.

Do you travel for your holiday?

No, not anymore. I used to roam the neighborhood when I was a kid, and then later taking my girls around the neighborhood for trick or treats. One year we were visiting my in-law’s in another city, and my SIL gave a party for all the kids. First we took them to get candy at a few houses, then came back for party food and games. It was pouring down rain that night, too.

Is it a religious or spiritual holiday?

No, not for me.

Is there a gift exchange?

Sometimes, we give our kids a Halloween card, and a few fun things that are Halloween themed.

How long does the celebration last?

Just the one night. However, the build-up and anticipation for all the fun begins way earlier, like the first of the month. There were always lots of discussions about what costume you’d be wearing, and lots of changing of minds. I used to sew their costumes from a pattern, too, so that took awhile before the big day.

Optional Bonus question: Β What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?Β 

Grateful I’m pretty much over being sick. Looking forward to Christmas celebrations with daughters, and their families.:)

***

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas & Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2016 BS

 

18 responses »

    • Oh my word! I would love that house. All the special touches were amazing, and the story of how it was made, and renovated was so interesting! Thanks for sharing this with me! πŸ™‚

  1. I have made Easter dresses, but I was never brave enough to tackle Halloween costumes. David’s mother made the pumpkin suit for our first born. I braved the mall and bought the sleeper to go under it. haha I think it is cool that you made the costumes for your children.

    I hope that you have a wonderful Christmas with your children and their families. Have a blessed week, too. πŸ™‚

    • I used to sew a lot of things, and I do like sewing. I haven’t really done much in a long time, though. I learned to sew when I was in jr. high school homemaking class. …Wishing you and your family a lovely and fun Christmas, Suzanne! πŸ™‚

      • Did you have fun in home-ec? I took it, too, in both middle school and high school. No matter what sewing machine I went to, no matter what day I went to it, it didn’t work. It is like all the machines saw me coming and said, “NOPE!” haha Another girl in class had a 3-pc suit (pants, shirt, jacket) made in the time it took me to make a shirt that only involved sewing three pieces of cloth together.
        Thankfully, my grown-up sewing experience was much better. Everything except the serger liked me once I grew up. I never have figured that thing out. Maybe sometime soon I’ll make a post sharing some pics of the kids in clothes I made them when they were little.
        I wish you and your family a blessed and happy Christmas, and a wonderful New Year too, Barbara. πŸ™‚

      • I loved home-ec classes. It was fun learning how to cook and sew. I did ok I think. Didn’t have trouble with the machines like you did (sorry) …we even learned how to construct our own patterns. We had the FHA organization, too. I made a lot of my clothes back then, and some later on for the girls. Seems now that the patterns are so expensive, it’s easier to just buy a shirt or whatever ready made. It would be cool to see some of the outfits you’ve made! πŸ™‚ xo

    • You are right about that! I’d like Halloween all year long! Right now though, I’d like to wish you a wonderful Christmas season! πŸ™‚ Thanks for your visit here, Stephanie!

  2. I’ve enjoyed your “Share…” I think I will get in on the action for 2017 if Cee continues the prompts. Do you know if it will continue? Have a great Christmas season filled with fun, faith, family and whatever else you can cram in!

    • Hi, Oneta! Thanks for stopping by to read. As far as I know, Cee will continue with her challenges in 2017. Keep checking back either here, or on her blog. It would be so nice to have you join in! … Wishing you and yours a wonder filled Christmas & New Year! xo

  3. Halloween seems to be getting bigger and bigger in Finland too. I like to decorate a bit but I don’t go crazy as I reserve that for Christmas πŸ˜›

    • I don’t do much decorating at any holiday anymore, even though I’d like to. Mostly I did this when the kids were young and at home. I love looking at everyone’s decorations now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

