CHRISTMAS COUNTDOWN # 16 – WRAPPING PRESENTS

Standard

CHRISTMAS COUNTDOWN # 16 – WRAPPING PRESENTS megans-christmas-countdown

https://ourrandomview.wordpress.com/2016/12/16/christmas-countdown-day-16-wrapping-presents/

***

This day’s topic is about wrapping presents.

I do like wrapping presents at Christmas time. There’s so many pretty papers and gift bags to choose from. I used to get really fancy in decorating the packages, but not so much any more. I still enjoy it, but it is tiring if you have a lot of them to get done. These days we don’t really have so many gifts to give out, so it would seem I have more time to fancy them up. I just don’t. It’s lucky if I get them wrapped at the last minute, or just use a pretty bag. We even got to where we don’t use as many ribbons, either, because the cats would want to chew them off. I never liked the plastic bows and ribbons, so mostly either used, twine, yarn, or fabric ribbons.

You can find some good sales on Christmas papers, bags, and ribbons, after the holidays are over. I’ve done that before, but then finding a place to store it for the year is sometimes a problem. Also, forgetting you did that, and buying a bunch more, has happened a lot, too!

One of my favorite wrappings is just brown craft paper, tied with twine. I like to sometimes tie on a candy cane, small ornament, or jingle bells with the ribbon, or string. One year I did all my gift packages like that. I also tied on beads and feathers. I liked how they turned out.

Do you like to do the wrapping of gifts, or rather just let someone else do it? Do you like to make the packages unique and outrageous sometimes? It’s fun to try different things. 🙂

***

Thanks for vistitng! }i{

© 2016 BS

 

14 responses »

    • Me, too! There sure are some pretty ones, but then I don’t like tearing the paper off…it’s too pretty. These days, the already made gift bags, and some tissue paper is the way to go. I’ve had some pretty big ones, too! haha

  1. I love doing all that lol…
    I really enjoy it…
    we have a tradition since dad was a kid his mom would save the toilet paper rolls and put lil candies inside and sometimes lil gifts and wrap the outside up and tie the ends…
    Gurl we still don’t have the tree decorated lol…even thinking about taking it down …we just not into it this year…sad but true…still have the spirit but…idk…
    How are you feeling gurl???

    • Hey Suzette! How’s it going? Hope all is well, and you are keeping warm. It is so cold here today…down to 4 degrees this morning! …. That’s a fun idea with the surprise candies and gifts! .. and no, we didn’t decorate anything this year. We will celebrate twice, one early at one daughter’s house, then flying out of state to be with our other daughter. They do all the pretty decorating these days, and we just show up for the fun! 🙂

      • Hey gurl!!!…
        the usual …hanging in there gurl…just getting the last of the cards sent out today …usually from dads side the only side we get cards from can still come in all the way till mid January so I just keep track of who sends us ones and send them one back lol…
        Yeah it is fun we usually get different candy so it is a fun tradition …simple…
        we had the tree up but nothing happen…lol so it is back down…we are just going to take the money that we would spend on Christmas food and get regular food since we are out of everything and the money will go further…still have the spirit of Christmas but not decorating but that is ok…last year we went all out inside the house but taking it easy this one lol..
        That is nice to visit other family memebers and see what decorations and food is always fun…Oh how I would love to fly to anywhere right now lol..I think you all have the right idea …enjoying the fun and food and visiting ..yuppers..you do…

      • We used to do a lot of decorating, too. I love to look at it all, as it had been packed away for a year. I miss doing that, but we haven’t in a while. Maybe we will again, if we can keep the cats from messing it all up. … I love that you used the word ‘yuppers’ 🙂 We have one friend that always says that, so happy to hear you say it like that, too! It’s a good sounding word. … xoxo

  2. I definitely prefer wrapping paper. I’ve been on a blue kick for about three years now. I used to take a lot more time and give much more attention to wrapping and then suddenly I was married with kids and inlaws and nephews and whoa — and there were too many presents for all that. Perhaps one day I will go back to it. I enjoyed stamping the paper and doing cut-outs and stuff like that. 🙂

    • I know what you mean, Joey. We never have enough time or energy to get done all we want to do. I used to stay up wrapping gifts all night it seemed, then the kids would want to start unwrapping them all at the crack of dawn! haha … that’s cool you did the stamping and cut outs for decorating the paper! I did that a few times, when I was younger. It was a lot of fun. 🙂

  3. I could probably wrap for a living – if people had any money left to pay me after they bought their presents, anyway — I absolutely love it and always have. Simple, fancy, themed – whatever. More than a few times I heard that my gifts were “almost too pretty to unwrap.” Sooooo . . .

    For special presents, many years ago, I developed the habit of using gorgeous paper to wrap the tops and bottoms of many of the boxes separately, then tying them with beautiful ribbons topped with fancy bows – two presents in one if folks wanted to keep the box, something beautiful to use again the following year if they left it behind or started to toss it. (never for kids, btw – kid gifts were rare, and got wrapped very simply and quickly, usually tied with that curly ribbon, unless the child was extremely unusual and cared how the outside looked).

    It’s a great time-saver to have boxes already wrapped, and also gives me pretty boxes in which to tuck non-Christmas tchotkes away & stick under the tree to make room for the Christmas pretties – no naked tree remains after the “real” presents are opened either.

    ALL bows and ribbon always get recycled by me, if not the recipient – and I ALWAYS shop sales for supplies.

    Merry Christmas to you, your loved ones, and all your readers.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    • Thank you so much, Madelyn! I can just imagine how beautiful and unique the packages you’ve wrapped over the years have been. Those are some really good ideas you have for the boxes. I never know what to do with the regular, everyday knick-knacks, when making room for the Christmas ones! I’m one of those who save and reuse papers and decorations, too. … Wishing you and yours a wonderful Christmas and New Years season, also! 🙂

      • I try to choose boxes that will “nest” for storage – and many are actually several decades old now, believe it or not. I love to see them reappear under the tree each year.

        What’s really fun is “opening my presents” once Christmas comes down – all my other goodies seem brand new again.
        xx,
        mgh

      • That is wonderful you keep and re-use the pre-wrapped boxes year to year. It is fun to get our regualr knick-knacks out again after Christmas. I’d like enough room to keep all my things out to look at all the time, but then it wouldn’t be as much fun to see them again after being stored for awhile. 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

