WHAT’S THE ANSWER? – MADDENING

Standard

WHAT’S THE ANSWER? – MADDENING

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/maddening/

***

This was the WP Daily Post topic yesterday. As usual I’m a day behind. The thing is, I have questions, and they are maddening, to me.

I really enjoy blogging on Word Press. I’ve been here for around 3 years, so far, and have been happy with it all. However, I have some questions.

Most of my questions are about how things work on Word Press. I try to find out some information by using the help/support/forums sections on here, but can never find an answer. Sometimes, I’ve writtten my question for someone to answer, but almost never get a reply. I’ve spent hours searching for answers, only to get no results.

Here’s what I’m dealing with this time. Maybe someone out there in the world of WP and blogging can help?

  1. I keep getting a notice on here that my storage for photos (I think) is almost used up. I just have the ‘free’ dot com kind of blog, so now do I have to pay money to continue my blog? What happens if I can’t/don’t want to do this?
  2. Do I have to quit blogging if I run out of space?
  3. Do I just have to stop adding photos to my posts? I thought we were encouraged to add them to all posts, and I do like doing that.
  4. Do I have to start a ‘new’ blog to continue blogging, with more space?
  5. I don’t understand the whole explanations of upgrade for money thing. It mentions domains, premiums, and name changes and I just don’t get it. I don’t want to change anything…just want more space to add photos!
  6. If I delete a bunch of my photos from the WP media library, does that make them disappear from the posts I put them on? I wouldn’t want that to happen. If I delete a bunch of photos, will that free up some space? I just don’t know.
  7. I don’t really know how to start another blog, even though I thought we could have more than one. How does that work? I tried one time, and it wouldn’t let me do it. I don’t want to start another one, though. I like mine just the way it is.

So, you see why all this is so maddening to me? I need some answers and don’t know what to do. Have you ran into this problem, and if so, what did you do? I have lots of blogging to do in 2017, and need to find out soon. šŸ™‚

Thanks for listening/reading! Any help will be appreciated.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Ā© 2016 BS

 

 

10 responses »

  1. I can answer some of these. You don’t have to stop blogging if you “run out of space”, you just can’t upload pictures to WP any more. There are ways to embed photos in WP and store them elsewhere, but I haven’t explored how to do that yet – it’s on my list! I know people who store photos on Flickr and embed them in WP, but my Flickr account has been shut down and I can’t get back in, so that doesn’t work for me (I pay for my WP site so I can avoid ads and upload photos). Starting another blog won’t help unless you open a whole new account, as I believe the storage is attached to your account. And yes, if you delete old photos, I believe they will be deleted from your posts as well as WP won’t be able to find them any more. Don’t know what your best solution is – asking for a paid account for Christmas? Or exploring options for storing photos elsewhere and embedding them? Sorry this isn’t more help…

    • Thanks, Emily. That’s probably what I’ll have to do. If I get a paid one, I get more space? I don’t know about Flickr or anything like that. Thanks for all the information. šŸ™‚

  2. As I understand it Barbara, if you have a ‘free’ account you get 3gb for everything. If you need more then you have to upgrade to a paid plan. It seems that photos take up a lot of space. Don’t know what the answer is.

    • Thanks, Tony! I’ll probably have to do the paid upgrade soon, just didn’t want to have to do that, but I like putting photos on here! Thanks for your thoughts on this! šŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for asking those questions, I’m in the same situation as you, nearly 3g used, I just paid for my domain name for another year, but that didn’t change the amount I have used with images so I will tick the notify me of new comments hoping I learn something too.
    I don’t know what to do.

    • Thanks, Elsie! Sorry you are having the same problem. So far, I don’t see any good way around unless I pay for the upgrade. I still need to study on it some more, as to how to do it, and all that. I suppose it’s ‘free’ up until it isn’t free anymore. Good luck with yours! šŸ™‚

      • Thanks for the reply, I read somewhere a while back that you could buy extra space, I don’t know if you can do that with a free account, though.
        Yes, it looks as though we have come to the end of a free WordPress blog.
        Cheers.

      • You two are in a pickle, aren’t you ? I have posted dozens of photos and used only 1Gb. I can see why you have used so much. Two posts back, your Xmas tree. I’ve had a look at it. The size is approx 2500 pixels using 1.96Mb of photo space. For a blog post you need a photo editor (WP Media Library has a basic one in Edit Image). Reduce the size to 450 pixels, save as jpg ( important ) and you will end up with a photo using approx 50Kb (next to nothing). A bit late but I hope that helps. šŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for the information, Ralph. Maybe I can figure out about the sizing which I had no idea about. I did go ahead and get the next larger plan, that is paid for, so now have more room at the present time. I sure appreciate your blogging tips! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

