CHRISTMAS COUNTDOWN – DAY # 4 – CHRISTMAS CARDS

Standard

CHRISTMAS COUNTDOWN – DAY 4 – CHRISTMAS CARDS

megans-christmas-countdown

https://ourrandomview.wordpress.com/2016/12/04/christmas-countdown-day-4-christmas-cards/

***

This prompt asks us to tell something about Christmas cards. Do we send any…do we receive any?

Yes and yes. I’ve always sent Christmas cards to friends and relatives, and have received some from them. Some years there are more, sometimes less on my list, but it stays pretty constant. I just sent out mine for this year on Monday.

One year I made my own to send. I painted a picture on the front of some cardstock, and wrote a little poem inside for the greeting. People seemed to like them. Maybe I’ll do that again someday. I used to always get a box of cards that had a variety of pictures on them. Then it was hard to decide which one to send to which person on my list. Next, I got some boxes of the same picture cards, which made it easier.

There was a cool thing that happened one time. Some wouldn’t see it that way, but I was very happy about it. At an estate sale one summer, I found a bunch of these huge scrapbooks for sale. There were 12 of them, and each one only cost a dollar. These scrapbooks were pretty old, like from the 1940s on up through the 90s. They were just filled completely with Christmas cards someone had saved and pasted into these scrapbooks. There were all these old cards, some photos, and lots of handwritten letters, and Christmas newsletters, that this person had saved over all the years. It has been so interesting and fun to read these, and see the cards from long ago. … Did I say these scrapbooks were huge? I’d never seen such large ones before, and filled, they all weighed probably 20 pounds each. It was a trial to fit them all into our little car, for me to take them home, but we managed. πŸ™‚

Here’s a few photos I took of some of the cards… these I believe were labeled from the 1980s…

img_4601 img_4602 img_4603Β img_4598Β 

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2016 BS

8 responses »

  1. Oh i would have bought the scrapbooks too! Could not resist thumbing through them and wondering what joy they brought so many years ago! And yes, I keep all Christmas and birthday cards we receive. Not in a scrapbook but all together bound by the year. Some day I hope someone comes across them and appreciates them as much as I do. πŸ’•

    • Hi, Kelly! Glad to know you’d have bought those scrapbooks, too. ‘Some people’ around here thought it was not a good idea, and a waste of money, to get them, but I sure have enjoyed them. I keep all my cards, too. I’ve got lots of my own scrapbooks of them, and many more to go, one of these days. Oh, you know what? My mom, and both grandmas kept all the cards they got, and now I have them all over here to go through, which includes letters and photos. Will I ever get it done??? πŸ™‚

  2. I remember that problem of trying to decide which card to send people. I’d buy a box of cartoony Christmas cards to send to everyone at school and I’d spend hours picking who should get each one.

    • I know exactly what you mean, David. So many decisions. There’s the cute kittens for cat lovers, and the dog ones for dog people, and the more religious ones for those you know attend church…well, it gets a bit much sometimes. But, I still love sending cards. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

