DEATH BY SNAIL

Standard

DEATH BY SNAIL

A princess born to royalty

In Egypt’s long ago day

Dined on poisonous escargot

And duly passed away

Petrified and mummified

Her sacred scarab by her side

To protect her bones

She rests in place, rests in peace, as

Her scarred soul yet roams

***

img_4605

My scarab pins

***

Written for dVerse Poets – Quadrille # 22 – Scar … Use the word ‘scar’ in any form, in a poem of only 44 words

Quadrille#22

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2016 BS

 

30 responses »

    • Thank you so much, De! This was a fun Quadrille prompt. I still want to try using all the words we’ve had. Maybe at some point I will. Glad you enjoyed the ‘s’ words, and thanks for being such a great host! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Linda! So, you’ve never wanted to try eating snails? I’ve had them a few times, and liked them a lot. They remind me of sauteed mushrooms with butter sauce. How about frog legs? I like those, too. πŸ™‚

      • And yet another reason: I despise mushrooms. Is sooner starve than eat them. Frog legs, on the other hand, I would be willing to try, though I never have had the opportunity.

      • Oh my! Guess that you wouldn’t like snails, if you don’t like mushrooms. πŸ™‚ Frog legs, as they say, tastes like chicken. It’s just the thought of what you’re eating that is a turn off, I think.

  1. Loved your intriguing title. ❀ It was the first thing to grab my attention. Just had to read to see what it evolved into. Your poetic words delivered wonderfully. ❀

Leave a Reply

