PLEASE INTRODUCE YOURSELF # 21

Standard

nanopoblano1

https://cheerpeppers.wordpress.com/2016-2/

For Nano Poblano and National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo)

***

img_4494 img_4492

“Please Introduce Yourself”

Hi there! We are a bunch of letters. The nice lady kept us for many years. She loves to write actual letters to be mailed, and so she did. She did have many pen-pals. There was a few magazines years ago, that were happy to print a letter you sent to them, asking for pen-pals. The nice lady did this a few different times, and each time received tons of responses in her mailbox. The letter writers came from all over the world. We are just a very few of the letters she was happy to receive, and they exchanged back and forth correspondence for quite a while.

You can see one of the letters she sent in to the magazine, and some of the many she’d gotten back. It was lots of fun to be part of the fun of sharing thoughts and ideas with many ladies. I think she would still be doing this, but since the prevalence of emails and such, not so many want to write or receive real letters in the mail anymore. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted. πŸ™‚

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2016 BS

 

9 responses »

    • It was so fun to get actual letters in the mail. Now, we can type a message to people in a split second, and don’t have to wait for days to get a letter back. I miss the old fashioned ways sometimes, but like how fast this way is on the internet. πŸ™‚

      • I don’t miss the hand-writing days simply because my hand-writing is awful, and my hands hurt when I write too much. I was born for this communication I think!

      • That’s good, since computers are the way of things now. I still write most things by hand. and like to try out lettering and such. Then, I’ll type it on here! I like to doodle on the pages, too. I came late to the computer age…haha πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 21 | McClendon Villa

  2. I love getting “real” letters in the mail, but they are few and far between. I’m bad about not always writing back. The last one I got was when David was in the hospital, I think in 2015. I have since emailed her multiple times, but have yet to send her an actual mail. I don’t know why it seems to go this way for me. I get busy and forget, I guess. The last letter that I wrote through regular mail was to my mama and she never wrote me back. I guess the letter upset her because I was asking questions about how her relationship started with my daddy and theirs was a bad relationship, plus he had recently died suddenly. A bad combination.

    I think it would be cool to have pen pals. My handwriting is deplorable, though.

    I think it is cool that you’ve kept these letters. πŸ™‚ How many pen pals did you have? How far away was the farthest one from you? I remember the magazines with pen pal advertisements in them, too.

    Have a blessed week and a very Happy Thanksgiving!

    • I kept a whole box full, but that was just a tiny fraction of all I received from the three times I had a letter printed in the magazines. (wish they still had those magazines to buy). I would get huge mail sacks full. I don’t know what happened to most of them; probably were lost in all our moves or something. I guess the farthest from the U.S. was Japan that I got letters from. There were some who sent trinkets, quilt squares, crochet things, Christmas ornaments, friendship books, newspapers, photos, well all kinds of stuff we’d trade. It was fun. … I want to wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving! xo

Leave a Reply

