OCTPOWRIMO 2016 – DAY 8 – POROUS

Standard

OCTPOWRIMO 2016 – DAY 8 – POROUS octpowrimo2016c

***

Porous …means to have tiny holes, or spaces, for air or light to pass through.

***

All Souls Day, Dia de los Muertos, the Day of the Dead, is celebrated in the autumn of each year, on November 2. People honor their loved ones who have died. It is believed the veil between the dimensions of the living and the dead is thinner at this time of year, so all the souls are able to visit more readily. Offerings of food, trinkets, and flowers are gathered to bring to the graves, or an ofrenda in the home. It is a nice custom, and not scary at all.

img_4125

“ALL SOULS DAY”

Come alive, come alive, come alive through the veil

Through porous dimensions all souls will sail

Offerings of food and marigold flowers

Treasure your departed in these mysterious hours

img_4126

***

Photos taken by me at a Dia de los Muertos Celebration…

Artist unknown

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

6 responses »

      • What’s stopping you from doing your own? I’d love to see what you come up with.

        This reminds me…in one of the art/photography classes that I was taking when I got sick, we had to do an image in the Vanitas style, mixing the dead with the living. October would probably be a great month for posting that image. I’ll have to dig it up and post it soon.

        Our day has been fine. It started off at the doctor’s office, but no worse news than any of the other visits, so that is good. 🙂

        Have a blessed evening!

      • Oh, I’d say time and motivation is the biggest reason. haha… I have tons of art supplies here, just waiting for inspiration to come along. One of these days, I keep saying. I’d never heard of the Vanitas style. I read a bit about it, and it does sound like something I’d be interested in trying. Not really the painting (I just dabble in that) but setting up photos and such. Glad the day has been pretty good for you. Enjoy your evening! xo

Leave a Reply

