JNW’s 31 DAYS OF HALLOWEEN PHOTO CHALLENGE – DAY 5 – HAUNTED

Standard

JNW’s 31 DAYS OF HALLOWEEN PHOTO CHALLENGE – DAY 5 – HAUNTEDpumpkin-161650_1280

JNW’s Halloween Challenge: Haunted

***

MY GRAND-MA’S HAUNTED HOUSE

My Grandma’s house always had a spooky feeling to it. As a kid, my cousin and I would spend the night over there in the back bedroom…even though we were scared of that room.

It felt like something was watching us from up in the NW corner of the ceiling. One night we heard what we swore were babies crying in the living room, so we sneaked in there to have a look.

The room was dim, but no lights were on. What we saw was the old rocking chair, just rocking back and forth…no one was sitting in it. Could this have been a ghost, rocking a ghost baby? I don’t know, but that is what we believed.GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a picture of the house today. It looks like a regular old house, doesn’t it? I don’t know who lives there now, but I always wonder if they have weird things happen in there like we used to, all those years ago. It looks about the same as when my grandparents lived there.

My next post will tell more about the creepy things I felt in and around the garage, which is over to the right, and back a bit.

Hope you’re enjoying hearing about my paranormal experiences!🙂

***

 

SPOOKY GARAGE

Standard

SPOOKY GARAGE

Have you ever felt like an unseen presence was watching you? You get that creepy feeling, maybe your hair stands up on the back of your neck, or you get hyper sensitive of any stealthy noises? Your ears want to hear something, anything, but you don’t…you just feel an overwhelming need to leave where you are. You are being watched. You don’t know who it is…or what it is, but you can sense they are there.

I have had this feeling lots of times. The most frequent was at my Grandma’s house…the one from my previous story. I could feel someone or something watching me in that back bedroom, which was scary, but the strongest feeling of this was in the garage. It was an old wooden and stucco outbuilding, right by the house. It was big enough for one car, and some items hanging on the walls on either side. The floor was just dirt, and there were two doors you’d have to open to get the car inside or out…no automatic garage door on this old place. The whole structure seemed kind of rickety, and there was always a musty smell, of old dirt and car parts. Nothing sinister, just the usual homeowner’s garage filled with tools, and other items.

However, if you went further into the garage, there was another door. Back behind where the car was parked, was a flimsy door. When in that little back room you could feel the weirdness. It didn’t look very strange, just a bunch of canning jars, and miscellaneous stored items, some junk from the house being stored. My cousin and I would always beg to go prowl around in there, though, mainly because it was spooky, and we liked to look at all the stuff.

The very best part, we thought, was an antique trunk. It must have belonged to some long lost relative, I don’t know, but it had all kinds of interesting things in there to look at. There were clothes from a bygone era, mementos, and a strange little box with this person’s hair in it…sort of a long tress of brown and gray, tied with a ribbon. It was fascinating!

Just as we’d get really into our discoveries, though we’d get spooked, because we could definitely feel/sense that we were being watched. Maybe it was the original owner of the trunk, but we never saw anyone…ghost or otherwise. We’d try to stick it out and keep looking, but it never failed, there would come a point where we had to run, run as fast as we could out of there, before the unseen entity grabbed at us.

I went in there lots of times by myself, even when I was told not to, but I couldn’t resist. I never knew what ever happened to that old trunk when my Grandma moved away. Wish I did.

Do you ever get the creepy, being watched feeling?

One more note: Later on, when my Grandma would go out of town, she’d ask me to come over to water plants, get the mail, and just check that all was ok with the house while she was gone. I would do it, but I’ll tell you what…I did it in a hurry, because being in that quiet house all by myself, was almost too much to take. I could feel the watcher’s eyes on me the whole time!

Thanks for reading my true ghost stories! Next time I’ll tell you some things that happened in my own houses over the years!

***

img_3319 img_3316 img_4104

***

 

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

6 responses »

  1. Wow, that about the babies crying wold have been very upsetting to me! Have you ever researched the history of the house or the family that lived there before your grandma lived there? You might uncover something that could explain the crying babies and the creepiness in the garage.

    Yes, I have felt that “something’s going to get me!” feeling tons of times, most recently in our carport. It is a terrifying feeling. I don’t know why, but I have been especially spooked lately, even to the point of being scared to open the main door that we used, afraid someone is going to be standing there waiting to hurt me. I guess it is menopause and/or the anemia playing tricks on me. I hope that is all it is, anyway!

    That urge to run, that “got to go right NOW” feeling used to happen to me all the time upstairs in David’s parents house (the one that Pres was in). I know partly why it spooked me there. When I was a little girl, one of my grandma’s cousins, that we called ‘Aunt Rose’ because she was so much older than us, didn’t want any of us kids going upstairs in her house (which used to belong to her parents). We’d start up the stairs anyway, and she’d scare us back down saying that the goblins would get us if we went up there. No matter the house or its history, I get a spooky feeling if I go upstairs.

    You said that, although you were scared, you couldn’t resist going into that part of the garage. Do you ever think that maybe the spookies were calling you into the place, luring you somehow?

    Thanks for sharing these stories! Have a blessed day. 🙂

    • As far as I know they were the only people to ever have lived in that house, and could be they built it there, not sure. That area where we lived was pretty much undeveloped at the time with only a scattering of houses. My dad built their house around the corner. Of course by the time I came along, it was a regular neighborhood. That house was just spooky though I don’t know why. …The house and room you were spooked in…it does sound like some presence was there. That’s one way to keep the kids out, by telling them goblins would get them!! .. oh, hadn’t thought of being lured into the old garage before. Now I wonder…creepy! haha

      • Yes, that is a creepy thought. I sure wouldn’t want a spooky tricking me into a bad spot.
        If you really wanted to get into the history of the house, the property tax people should have the ownership history of the house back to the first owner. There should be deeds and such recorded at the courthouse and maybe those records could be found online.
        The spookies could be related to the land the house is own and not related to the house at all, you know, like when things are built on old burial grounds.
        Yes, Aunt Rose had a very effective means of keeping us downstairs, but it sure didn’t stop us from trying. We were persistent little brats. 🙂

      • That’s an idea, to see if online records are available for the property. Who knows what was going on in the area many many years before we were there. Could be interesting to find out if possible. …haha we kids were persistent too when we set our mind on doing something. 🙂 Hope you’re week is going good! xo

Leave a Reply

