TOTALLY RANDOM POST of the DAY # 2

Standard

TOTALLY RANDOM POST of the DAY # 2

Today is the 2nd day of random posts. This one is about one of the many jobs I’ve had in the past. I wrote a little about my very first paying job  http://wp.me/p3RE1e-1HX

Today is a piece I wrote for the A to Z Challenge a while back, about the 2nd job I had.

Hope you enjoy reading about it, and the music video at the end. It’s about working, too. 🙂

***

cardboard-1164196__180

photo found on Pixabay

***

CORRUGATED CONTAINERS, CARTONS, BOXES

Those handy, dandy boxes. We all have them. Everything under the sun seems to come in them, large and small items, and from food to machinery. Even products packaged in boxes, come in larger boxes by the case.

We use and re-use them for all kinds of purposes. They are great for storage, their sides are flat and are easy to stack, they have flaps, so you can close them. They have writing on the sides, top, and bottom, either giving instructions, or identifying what’s inside. You can recycle cardboard, too. They are environmentally friendly.

Do you hate to throw away a ‘good’ box? do you save some for later use…maybe to send a package to someone, or for gift giving? It seems like cardboard containers are everywhere, yet at times, when you really need one, they are hard to find, especially in the size you want.

I never thought much about boxes, before I started a job at a corrugated container manufacturing plant. This was the second job I ever had. I was still in business college. I’d go to work part of the day, then go to classes at night. I did secretarial tasks in the front office, but occasionally I’d need to go back into the manufacturing area for some reason. It was noisy, with all the machines, cutting, pre-folding, and printing the words on the flattened sheets of cardboard.

One time, the workers had forgotten to add a number to the printing process, and discovered it at the end of the job. Instead of re-doing the order, they called on me to remedy the situation. That day, my job was to take a black magic marker and write the missing number on these boxes…hundreds of them.

It was actually pretty fun to be hanging out with the work crew. They were always in a good mood, laughing, joking, and playing the radio loud, over the noise of the machines.

Now, ever since then, I think of how cardboard, and corrugated containers and boxes are made. I habitually check to see if maybe someone else has had to write a number on a box, like I did.

***

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

2 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness, you make it sound so … fun? My husband worked at a box factory while looking for better work when he was laid off years and years ago — he hated it. Like, he couldn’t stand it. It bout drove him to crazy! It was the only job he quit without notice. Not even three months in, “Baby, I can’t do it. I can’t. I gotta quit. Can I quit?” LOL we still laugh about it.

    • Sorry he had a terrible experience at the box company job. For me, it was just office work, and I liked doing that, so it was fun. It may have been altogether different back in the factory part of the business.

Leave a Reply

