19 Somethin’ September Challenge – Day 24 – 28

Standard

19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY 24 – 28 19-somethin_sidebar_button

https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/september-19-somethin-challenge/

***

Q24 – Is there another song that makes you reminiscent of your teenage years?

At the moment I can’t think of any one specific song. I listened to all kinds of songs in the 60s, from rock, metal, soul, bubble-gum, some country, and movie soundtracks. It was all good.

Q25 – If you could go back in time to your childhood, would you? What would you want to change, if anything?

Probably not, unless I could take everything from what the years I’ve already lived through back with me. I don’t know of anything I’d change.

Q26 – What is something about your younger years that you would absolutely not change or trade for anything?

I wouldn’t change how close our family, including aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents were. We all got along, and actually all lived pretty close to each other. Us kids ran around the whole neighborhood with each other and our friends, having fun all day. No one was afraid of being out and about.

Q27 – What do you remember the most from the year you turned 19? What was going on in your life back then?

All was good when I was 19. I graduated high school, I was dating my now husband. We got engaged in May and got married in December. I had a job and a car, too, so it was a good year.  (1969)

Q28 – When did you go on your first date? What did you do? Where did you go? Did you go out on another date with that person?

Can’t remember the first date ever, or the person, or where we went.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

8 responses »

  1. What is “bubble gum” music?

    If I were to go back in time, I’d want to take all I know now back with me, along with a digital camera/recorder and interview those that are no longer here.

    I’m glad that your family was close. That is great. Some parts of my family were not close relationship-wise, other parts were tighter than ticks. 🙂 I grew up with all four of my grandparents in the same county where I was born. I got to see them often. My daddy’s sister and her family lived in the same town as did my mama’s oldest sister and her family. The family of one of my mama’s brothers lived there, too. I grew up with lots of cousins around. There were just as many more living in other parts of the country and one in Germany that I have never met. We had both worlds, loyalty and the drama. 🙂

    It sounds like 1969 was a wonderful year for you! I wish that David would have married me that soon after he proposed. We were engaged three very long years before we got married. I was beginning to think it would never happen. 🙂 How did you luck out with the engagement only being 6 months?

    The first one doesn’t really matter when you end up with the one that was meant to be, does it? 🙂

    Thanks for joining in our 19-Somethin’ challenge. I enjoy learning more about you. Have a great weekend!

    • Oh, what was called bubblegum music was basically simple tunes, with catchy lyrics, and geared to the teen crowd. They were fun songs to sing along to. Here’s a link about it, and mentions some songs and artists. You may recognize some of them.
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubblegum_pop

      That’s great that so many of your family were fairly close where you lived. Same here, so we saw them all the time.
      We got engaged at the end of high school, he went into the Army, and was about to be sent to Viet Nam later that year, so we wanted to get married before he left. I’m glad we did. 🙂

      Thanks for hosting this fun challenge. Hope you do another one! 🙂

      • Thank you for the link. I’ll read it shortly.
        It was great being close to so many relatives, especially my grandparents. I am very sorry that my children didn’t get to have that same thing growing up.
        I am glad that you were able to go ahead and get married before he got shipped off to Viet Nam.
        Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed this challenge. I enjoyed your responses very much. I am going to try it again next year. I haven’t decided on the song yet, but I will let you know when I do. Have a blessed day!

      • Happy to have participated in your month long challenge. It’s fun to get to know you a bit, too, as you have such great comments and responses to everyone! Don’t know how much trouble it was to host, but I’ll look forward to the next one you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

