DEAR DIARY – MAY 1 -12, 1961

Standard

DEAR DIARY – MAY 1 – 12, 1961

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

***

Dear Diary,

5/1/61 – I went to school. It rained all day. When I came home I painted. Then I watched tv. Then I went to bed.

5/2/61 – I went to school. After school P (sister) walked home with me for the first time. When we got home we played. Then we went to bed.

5/3/61 – I went to school. When I came home. J(cousin) came home with me. We played. Then we went to Grandmas. P rode the bike. When we went home I played with P. Then I came in. Then I went to bed.

5/4/61 – I went to school.

5/5/61 – I went to school .

5/6/61 – Daddy played golf today. I helped mother clean the house. B (aunt) & kids came over. We went to the show tonight. Saw “North to Alaska” and “Edge of Eternity.” Came home & the house was full of millers.

**note** these past 3 were for some reason written in my mom’s handwriting. Why, I don’t know. Guess I was too busy to write? Who knows. Those 2 movies, well, I’m sure they were what my parents wanted to see. Not kid movies at all. And…the millers…oh my, those were moths, we called them millers, or candle bugs, or space coasters. We had an invasion of them and it was crazy! πŸ™‚

5/7/61 – We went to church. It had a sandstorm. (It? haha the church had a sandstorm? well, I’m sure I was just talking about the weather of the day.) … Daddy plumbed (He was a master plumber) haha I wrote ‘plumbed’ – didn’t know I knew that word back then at 10 years old! … for our washing machine. We went to the grocery store. Then we went to N’s (aunt) and then to B’s (aunt)

5/8/61 – I went to school. I went to see Dr. Jenkins. I have exzema on my head. Went to school this evening. Mother had her ears washed out.

5/9/61 – I went to school. J (cousin) came home with me to play.’

5/10/61 – I went to school.

5/11/61 – I went to school. It is D’s (cousin) birthday. He got 4 dollars and a half, a bilfold (billfold), Thongs (flip-flops), bicycle. We played out side for a long time.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2016 BS

4 responses »

  1. How cool that you still have your diary from when you were 10 years old. πŸ™‚ I had a diary when I was a kid. I went through it and went ahead and made my birthday entry for about 5 years. I was anxious to move on. haha

    I enjoyed reading your diary. πŸ™‚ Have a blessed night!

    • Thanks, Suzanne! … I like the idea that you went ahead and filled in your b.d. entries ahead of time. I never thought of that! I wish I’d have kept all my other ones I wrote. It’s fun to look back to see what was going on back then.

      • You’re welcome and thank you, too. It is great that you kept at least one of them. I don’t have any of mine from my childhood. I have several different journals now. I have journal files in my computer as well as actual hold-in-your-hand journals. Most of the time I forget to write anything in any of them. Then, I have to apologize to the journal for neglecting it. haha

        Wouldn’t it be neat to take your diary and write a book from it, either fiction or non-fiction?

        Have a blessed day!

      • haha I know what you mean. I have any number of little notebook/journals started, planning to write every single day in it, then I forget. Next time I have to tell it I’m sorry I forgot. πŸ™‚ Good to know I’m not the only one that does that! … It would be great to figure out how to do a book. I’ve looked into the self-published type or whatever you call it, and I just can’t understand the process when it comes to formatting and all the rules.

Leave a Reply

