19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY 21

Standard

19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY 21  19-somethin_sidebar_button

https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/september-19-somethin-challenge/

***

The question for day 20 was … Did you ever have ‘big’ hair?

Is this big hair? haha — it’s a Halloween wig! 🙂

img_4051

I would say not really. I did have it poofed out for a little while in all over curly style, but not that big. I mostly keep and did keep my hair long and straight. I tease up the top some, and spray it so it will stay up. My regular photo on here is how I’ve had it for years. 🙂

Day 21 Q – Tell me about the first home you remember living in with your parents.

Ok, here’s a photo of it.

img_4050

This house is the only one I ever lived in with my parents, since my dad built it himself. We might have stayed somewhere else for a short time, but I don’t remember any one but this one. It was really small at first, until it was finished. We only sold this house a year or so ago, when my dad passed. I lived here from when I was a little bitty kid, until I got married, and then lived there another year while husband was in Viet Nam. Then we moved out. I came back to live there a few more times when he was deployed overseas.

To the right used to be a one car garage, but later on it was turned into a 4th bedroom. From the front door going left is the bedroom that was mine. In back of that one, was another bedroom, and beside it was another bedroom. Going down the middle hallway there is a bathroom on the left, then you come to the entryway to the kitchen. Oh, the 4th bedroom is at the end of the hallway, and has another 3/4 size bathroom. So behind the kitchen to the back of the house, is a laundry room. It has a nice window to look out into the back yard, and a little table and chairs were in there. A half bath was in there, too. There was an attic, where we kept junk. It just had plywood down the middle and it would get so hot up there in the summer, but we loved to prowl around in there. Out the back door is a big yard and garden space. Dad built a big shed/tool shop, and we had a cellar he’d built. At one time he’d made a drinking fountain and a big brick fireplace out there to grill on. Behind the back yard was someone else’s house, then huge cotton fields, then another housing addition, then the airport. We’d see planes coming over the house all the time, really low, when they were coming in for landing. I’d wave at the people in the plane. 🙂 That’s about it. It was a great place to grow up.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

 

 

6 responses »

    • Thanks, Joey! It was a good house, made special because my dad built the whole thing! 🙂 So, you had the big hair? 🙂 So many styles over the years, and mine didn’t want to do any of them that would look good. haha

    • Thanks, Jacqueline! I do have many good memories of living there. …Oh, the ‘big wig’ haha… that one was fun. For real, though I used to have a lot of real ones, like the Dutch Boy, and wiglets, and falls. Wigs are fun! 🙂

  1. That wig made me smile. I seem to remember some singer having hair like that. It was a guy, and the hair was blond. I can’t for the life of me remember who it was, though.

    I think that it is wonderful that your daddy built the house that you grew up in. My daddy painted ours, but that was about as close as he got to my childhood homes. He and my mother moved into the trailer that David and I left when we moved to another town. After we moved to Texas at some point, Daddy built a room onto that trailer. I’ve never seen how that worked out because I haven’t been back to SC since we moved here in 2004.

    It sounds like your house was well-equipped with bedrooms and bathrooms. There can never be too many bathrooms. haha

    Did your kitchen have a window over the sink? That seems to me to be the law for kitchens, but the house we’re in now doesn’t have one. I probably couldn’t see out of it anyway, but it would be nice to have one. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing your wig and your special childhood home with us and playing along with our 19-Somethin’ challenge. Have a blessed weekend!

  2. I know the singer you were thinking about, I think. Was it Rod Stewart? 🙂
    Yes, that house has 4 bedrooms, and 3 bathrooms now. When I was growing up it wasn’t that many. We had only the one bathroom, no shower, no laundry room, so there were add ons over the years. We always had a window over the sink. I do like looking out while I’m doing dishes. There were a couple of rent house we had that didn’t have that, and it just seemed wrong.:)

Leave a Reply

