19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY # 18

Standard

19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY # 18 19-somethin_sidebar_button

https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/september-19-somethin-challenge/

***

Q – Did you like to roller skate? Did you go to a skating rink, or did you skate on the sidewalk/street at home? If you went to the skating rink, did you spend more time skating or socializing?

I loved to roller skate! Early on, I did have some of those clamp onto your shoes kind, with a skate key to tighten them. I’m guessing I just skated around and around the kitchen table, as there was no carpet in that room. Otherwise, we would skate in the middle of the street. We didn’t have sidewalks, at the time, and our driveway was just caliche dirt/rocks.

Later on, in my teens, I had my own roller skates. They were white, lace up, and I bought some gold and white pom-poms to attatch to the top. Every Friday night was skating night. I’d meet my friends at the rink. (our parents had to drive us, as we weren’t old enough to drive yet). It would be from 7 p. m. until probably 11/12 o’clock. Our rink was called Fair Park, because it was located in one of the large buildings located at the fair grounds. Funny, there was another rink in town, called Haney’s. Seems there was a friendly rivalry between the kids who went to one or the other, saying their rink was the best one. Once in awhile we’d go to the other one, just to check it out. Ours was the best, I think. My future husband always went to the other one, and he says it was the best!

Anyway, we had one claim to fame at Fair Park; Buddy Holly and the Crickets had played a live show from there one time. Later on there would be an occasional local band that would play while we were skating there.

Mostly we skated. We socialized too, of course, but we could all skate pretty good, frontwards, backwards, dancing what we called the jitterbug, and whatever else we could think to do out on the rink.

Now, this is a fun memory. Every time we were there, late in the evening, around 10 probably, we’d all take off our skates. I mean, lots of kids. We’d all go out, cross the big road/highway, climb a little hill, and arrive at a bakery. The bakery would be cooking fresh loaves of bread for the next day, and the smell was delicious. It would drift over to the skating rink, signalling it was ready. So, we’d all go over to buy a loaf of bread, each…for a quarter! We’d take it back to the rink to eat, put on our skates again, and do some more skating, until our parents picked us up. It’s strange to think of now, that the bakery people would even let all of us kids in so late, to buy bread, but they did.

Anyway, we did this for years. I guess when we got older and in High School, we had other activities to do, like dating, and football games on Friday nights. But, I’ll always remember the good times we had at the rink.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

10 responses »

  1. This is a great memory post! I think it is neat that the bakery let you kids in to buy bread so late. I also think it is amazing that the skating rink people let you all leave and then come back in. At our skating rink, once our parents dropped us off, we were captives until they came back to get us. One time I even had my mama’s permission to leave with someone other than her and the skating rink lady wouldn’t let me leave. Boy, was I mad! But, looking back, it was probably a good thing that she didn’t let me leave with that person. It could have ended badly.

    Did your rink have you all do the Hokey-Pokey on the skates, too? That was one of my favorite things to do at our rink. We went on Saturday mornings, every Saturday, 10am- Noon. It was for 12 and under, but I was shorter than average and was able to squeeze it out a little past 12. 🙂

    How old were you when you learned to skate backwards? I don’t know how old I was when I finally learned, maybe a young teen. I had to overcome a lot of discouragement to get to that point, though. Once I figured it out, I loved it!

    Thanks for sharing your memories in our 19-Somethin’ challenge. I enjoy reading your posts. 🙂

    • Now that you mentioned it, it was interesting that we could come and go as we pleased. But then it was the early 60s and nobody thought a thing about us kids running all over the place. I guess I just practiced going backward a lot during those Friday nights at the rink. It got easier little by little. We didn’t have any hokey pokey going on haha… no suggestions of what to do, just a free for all out there! 🙂

      • Maybe the area where your rink was was a safe one overall. Ours was in a not so safe part of town. Once we were in, we were in until our parent or guardian came to get us.
        We had mostly free skating during our two hours there, but they had moments of speed skating, couple skating, and the hokey pokey. I loved that one. 🙂 A two-hour free for all would have been just as fun, though. I was just happy to be getting to skate. 🙂
        Have a wonderful day.

      • I guess it was just those times back then, you didn’t hear of much meanness going on. The rink was sort of isolated on the fairgrounds, and close by the city park. Now, when I took the girls to learn skating, at another newer rink, they did do all kinds of fun activities out there.

  2. I spent about three years in a small Indiana town called Franklin, and it has The Franklin Skate Club. Not only did I practically live there all winter, but I had outdoor skates for home, and took fancy skate competition lessons!
    I just drove past there yesterday, and the place was still hoppin, like it woulda been any Saturday night 30 years ago! 😀

    All summer long I wanted roller skates, and let me tell you next summer, I WILL GET ROLLER SKATES! We have a nice long asphalt driveway and Moo skates on it all the time!

    • That is so cool, that you took those fancy lessons! Did you ever go to a competition? You must have been a super skater! …You should get some skates! That would be fun. It’s been forever since I was on any, and I just know I’d fall and break something now, but I did put on my daughter’s skates and go up and down the hallway all the time. That’s been quite a few years ago, though. 🙂

      • I did go to competitions, but I never won a single thing. Still I had a lot of fun 🙂 I’m still better than average, but I’m not fabulous or anything.

      • What great memories of those days for you. Now, this was roller skating or ice skating? I tried ice skating once. haha there was a rink here but it only lasted a very short time. Evidently we don’t deal with ice very good. 😉

Leave a Reply

