19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY # 17

Standard

19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY # 17 19-somethin_sidebar_button

https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/2016/09/17/september-19-somethin-challenge-day-17/

***

Q – Do you remember where you were/or what you were doing when the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded? This happened on January 28, 1986. Were there any big event going on in your personal life at the time?

I do remember exactly where and what was going on, on that day. It was the day before my husband was leaving for Korea, where he was being stationed (Army) for a year. We were at my parents house, where the girls and I would be staying while he was gone. He’d just made us all some omelets with mushrooms and cheese. The morning news was on the TV. We watched in horror as the Space Shuttle first lifted off, then exploded.

We watched for awhile, but still had to get things done. I sewed new Army patches on his uniforms and later we went driving around town. Seemed the whole city had gone quiet.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

 

9 responses »

  1. Was such a sad day. Love your personal recollection. I find it interesting that things happen when there is other things going on. Though life for us at that time was pretty mundane. Funny, the details we recall. I was at Brunswick bowling alley bowling in my weekly league with my in-laws. Was wearing a purple sweat suit of all things! We all stopped to watch the launch on live TV and were devastated. Left everyone speechless. I remember I got Amber out of the nursery to watch. She was only 2 but had been talking about it already. She was unaware of what happened. I remember even the announcer wasn’t certain! Gave her a big hug and put her back with the kids. After bowling I went to find Donny, they were sheet rocking a house. Took him to lunch at the Dutch Maid (later 82nd Street Cafe). They had a TV and we watched the news recaps over lunch. Still remember driving back to Slaton with my in-laws. Now ask me what I did last Tuesday and I will struggle to come up with one detail! Funny how our brain works huh?

    • Hey, Kelly! Seems like when horrific events happen, it gets seared into your brain, all the details of what you were doing, and where you were. Interesting to hear what you were doing that day. Funny we both lived here and didn’t even know each other until many years later. I’m glad we did meet and become neighbors! Purple sweatsuit? That makes me smile! 🙂 Hope you played a good game of bowling!

  2. Yes. I was in the sixth grade. I had the flu. I was home on the brown sectional, under my yellow quilt, watching a morning show, I think. After that, it was pretty much the only thing on tv all day. It was scary and I hated that it was a woman.
    I was in this generation that was told over and over, “You can be doctors and lawyers and astronauts,” and all I could think was how awful that was. That woman, the best and brightest, gone. It did affect me. Deeply.

    • It is so weird when things like that happen. We are going about our usual routine, when millions of people suddenly are stopped in their tracks to try and comprehend what has happened. I hated that Christa McAuliffe, the teacher, was lost in that explosion. I read her biography. Also, her students were watching at the time, too. Must have been so hard to see that.

  3. How awful that must have been for you to see something so devastating on the eve of your husband going into such uncertainty, knowing something like this…or worse…could happen to him, too. As a Marine and Navy mama, these things are always on my mind, too. How did you deal with the uncertainty?

    Thanks for participating in our 19-Somethin’ challenge. Have a blessed Sunday!

    • It was so sad, to think of the astronauts on the shuttle that day. As for the mister leaving on deployment, well it wasn’t the first time he’d been away for a long time, so though I never liked it, it was pretty standard for us over the years.

      • I guess you do get used to it after awhile, but I don’t think that I’d ever be fine with it. I have been reading so many WWII-era newspapers over the last week and the casualty lists and the obits for boys whose bodies didn’t come home until nearly 10 years later..It makes me cry for those mamas and daddies way back then. My own great-great-grandmother was one of those getting notice that her son had died. My granny and papa got one, too, about Uncle Bobby Joe. As hard as it is from the mother’s viewpoint, I can’t imagine dealing with it as a wife.

      • That would be terrible to get a notice like that, and being home, dreading if the time was to come. I know I felt like that during Viet Nam. …oh the newspaper online you’ve mentioned…is that a free thing to use? I looked at it, and it said something about a free trial subscription? Do they charge a fee later? I wouldn’t be able to do that, but it sounds interesting to look at old newspapers.

Leave a Reply

